This is the "Home" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

Resources for your English classes
Last Updated: May 1, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/English Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find articles from databases

All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.

 

Research Paper DVD

Research Paper: Demonstration
Call Number: DVD LB 1576 RES

 
 

Opposing Viewpoints Search

 

English Books from our shelves

Cover Art
Grammar Girl’s 101 Words Misused Words - Fogarty, Mignon
Call Number: PE 1460.F576 2011
ISBN: 0312573375
Millions of people around the world communicate better thanks to Mignon Fogarty, aka Grammar Girl, whose top-rated weekly grammar podcast has been downloaded more than 30 million times. After realizing her fans were asking the same questions over and over, Mignon decided to focus her attention on those words that continuously confound the masses. You’ll learn
• When you should use affect and when effect is right
• Whether you should you say purposely or purposefully
• What the difference is between hilarious and hysterical
Packed with clear explanations, fun quotations showing the word used in context, and the quick and dirty memory tricks Mignon is known for, this friendly reference guide ends the confusion once and for all and helps you speak and write with confidence.

Cover Art
Grammar Girl’s 101 Words to Sound Smart - Fogarty, Mignon
Call Number: PE 1449.F558 2011
ISBN: 0312573464
Millions of people around the world communicate better thanks to Mignon Fogarty, aka Grammar Girl, whose top-rated weekly grammar podcast has been downloaded more than 40 million times. Now she’s turning her attention to improving our vocabulary—one smart word at a time.
Are you often stumped for the perfect way to say or write something? Do you find yourself using the same words over and over? Grammar Girl to the rescue! This handy reference guide contains 101 words that will enhance your writing, adding nuance, subtlety, and insight. Using these words in speeches, you'll sound confident and articulate--a skill that will benefit you for years to come.
Full of clear, straightforward definitions and fun quotations from historic luminaries such as Leonardo da Vinci and Charlotte Bronte as well as contemporary notables such as Dave Eggers and Rowan Atkinson, this highly-useable guidebook gives you the ability to speak and write eloquently at any occasion, setting you up for a lifetime of success.

Cover Art
Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing - Fogarty, Mignon
Call Number: PE 1112.F613 2008
ISBN: 0805088318
Are you stumped by split infinitives? Terrified of using “who” when a “whom” is called for? Do you avoid the words “affect” and “effect” altogether?
Grammar Girl is here to help!
Mignon Fogarty, a.k.a. Grammar Girl, is determined to wipe out bad grammar—but she’s also determined to make the process as painless as possible. A couple of years ago, she created a weekly podcast to tackle some of the most common mistakes people make while communicating. The podcasts have now been downloaded more than twenty million times, and Mignon has dispensed grammar tips on Oprah and appeared on the pages of The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and USA Today.
Written with the wit, warmth, and accessibility that the podcasts are known for, Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing covers the grammar rules and word-choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers. From “between vs. among” and “although vs. while” to comma splices and misplaced modifiers, Mignon offers memory tricks and clear explanations that will help readers recall and apply those troublesome grammar rules. Chock-full of tips on style, business writing, and effective e-mailing, Grammar Girl’s print debut deserves a spot on every communicator’s desk.

Cover Art
They Say, I Say - Graff, Gerald and Birkenstein, Cathy
Call Number: PE 1431.G73 2010
ISBN: 0393912752
They Say / I Say demystifies academic writing by identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say"). The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing. This version includes readings that demonstrate those moves—and provide stimulating conversations for them to enter. The Second Edition includes an anthology of 44 readings that will provoke students to think—and write—about five important issues, including two new ones: Is Higher Education Worth the Price? and Why Does It Matter Who Wins the Big Game?

Cover Art
Webster’s New World Roget’s A-Z Thesaurus - Larid, Charlton
Call Number: REF PE 1591. L27 1999
ISBN: 0028631234
This thesaurus contains not only suggestions of alternative words for each word included but also mini definitions of the words, as well as synonyms and antonyms. A usage guide, thematic index and supplementary word lists are also included.

Cover Art
English Desk Reference - Maas, Georgia S.
Call Number: REF PE 1112.R28 2005
ISBN: 0517224348
This English reference source is divided into three sections. Part One- A Guide for Writers covers mastering grammar, usage and punctuation, as well as preparing and marking up a manuscript and enhancing vocabulary. Part Two contains a concise dictionary and thesaurus. Part Three serves as a ready reference guide of information.

Cover Art
Woe Is I: The Grammarphobe's Guide to Better English is Plain English - O'Conner, Patricia
Call Number: PE 1112.O28 2009
ISBN: 1594488908
It's been called "possibly the most popular book on grammar ever published." Now the witty bestseller that took the nation by storm is back in a revised, expanded edition with new dos and don'ts from top to bottom.

In this new Woe Is I, Patricia T. O'Conner displays the same fresh, irreverent humor that has charmed hundreds of thousands of readers. There are new chapters on spelling and pronunciation, and updates throughout. But you'll find the same down-to-earth explanations in clear, plain English-the same sensible solutions to the grammar mysteries that bug even the best of us. O'Conner manages to unscramble the most complicated problems in simple, easyto- swallow language. So you won't encounter the kind of intimidating terminology that made you want to skip your high school English class. This funny, wise, and indispensable guide shows readers how to:

• avoid the persistent grammatical errors that tie everyone-even presidents!- in knots
• watch their tongues and learn to pronounce commonly mangled words
• correctly use dozens of much-abused words and phrases Whatever your problem-intimidated by possessives? puzzled over pronouns? clueless about how to say "banal"?-the updated Woe Is I provides witty, jargon-free answers to all your questions about the basics as well as the subtleties of grammar, style, and usage. No wonder The Atlanta Journal-Constitution called O'Conner's classic "the best primer on English usage to come along since Strunk and White's The Elements of Style."

Cover Art
The Gregg Reference Manual - Sabin, William
Call Number: PE 1479.B87 S23 2011
ISBN: 0073397105
The Gregg Reference Manual, 10/e by Sabin is intended for anyone who writes, edits, or prepares material for distribution or publication. For nearly fifty years, this manual has been recognized as the best style manual for business professionals and for students who want to master the on-the-job standards of business professionals. GRM provides answers that can’t be found in comparable manuals. That probably explains why GRM has received so many unsolicited 5-star reviews on the Amazon Web site. Those 5-star reviews offer a clear indication of the reputation GRM enjoys in the marketplace.

 

English Ebooks

  • Complete Idiot’s Guide to Writing Well
    Do you need help writing your papers? Then you will want to read this excellent guide which also includes examples of well written term papers. Learn all about the writing process.
  • Ebrary's English Collection
  • Hutchinson Dictionary of Abbreviations
    As implied by its name, this book is full of nothing but abbreviations. However, this book is very useful to anyone but especially those who work in any kind of writing, medical or editorial profession.
  • Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of English Usage
    This guide sets out to give clear, straightforward advice on avoiding errors in spoken and written English.
  • The Copyeditor's Handbook
    The Copyeditor's Handbook is a lively, practical manual for newcomers to publishing and for experienced editors who want to fine-tune their skills or broaden their understanding of the craft. Addressed to copyeditors in book publishing and corporate communications, this thoughtful handbook explains what copyeditors do, what they look for when they edit a manuscript, and how they develop the editorial judgment needed to make sound decisions.

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email

The Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy

 

Please give us your feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip