This is the "Home" page of the "Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art  

Resources for art and art history classes.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/art Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Art Databases

All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.

Art Websites

  • Art History Resources Online
    Art history resources online] complied by an art history professor at a college in Virginia. The resources are compiled according to category and time period. There are also categories for research, prints and photographs and museums and galleries.
  • Art.net
    A virtual space for artists to share their art with others on the Internet, there is also a list of resources, gallery rooms, artist studios, private collections, and links to current art happenings.



  • Artcyclopedia
    Search hundreds of art museum sites for exhibits and artists. Search according to artist name, title of work, or art museum. You can also browse the listings according to medium, subject, nationality or women artists.
  • Centre de Pompidu Collection
    Access the collection online of the Centre Pompidou in France.
  • Google Art Project
  • National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C.
    Get information about current, past and future exhibits as well as general information about the museum itself.

  • Search and Browse the Collection of the Louvre
    online website and collection of the Louvre museum in Paris.
 

More DVDS

Michelangelo- Self Portrait - Snyder, Robert
Call Number: DVD N 6923B9 MIC
Kevin Thomas, Los Angeles Times
Rapturous as it is stately. Snyder evokes the very spirit of the man. It is itself a work of art.

Joseph Campbell, Mythologist
An awe-inspiring experience...(the film) like any great work of art, must be seen again and again.

The Face: Jesus in Art - Hermmann, Edward and Keach, Stacy
Call Number: DVD N 8050 FAC
Narrated by Mel Gibson, Edward Herrmann, Star Herrmann, Stacy Keach, Juliet Mills, Ricardo Montalban, Bill Moyers, and Patricia Neal, this Emmy-winning program, as seen on public television, traces the dramatically different ways in which Jesus has been represented in art by people throughout history and around the world. Spanning the early 3rd century to the present, this sweeping program is an unprecedented travelogue of art and monuments. State-of-the-art digital technology virutally reconstructs precious works that were destroyed or lost.

 
 

Art DVDS

The Following Art DVDS are available for checkout:


'''Cezanne'''

DVD ND 192.2 POS pt.1

Paul Cezanne sought a method of capturing the underlying structure of any subject matter, in landscape, in still-life and in portraiture. His eventual triumph derived from a revolutionary new approach to color and perspective. His paintings were often derided by the critics, but by the end of his life, his genius was beginning to be appreciated. Cezanne’s influence on 20th century artists was so great that he is now referred to as the “Father of Modern Painting.”

'''Degas'''

DVD ND 192 IMP pt.2

Profoundly influenced by the Renaissance painters, Hilaire Degas pioneered precision of line and the use of the human form in space within the Impressionist school. A Paris-born pupil of Ingres, Degas produced such masterpieces as Rehearsal of the Ballet and The Cotton Exchange. This unique study of his life and times includes delightful new footage of the Royal Ballet, Birmingham, England.


'''Gauguin'''

DVD ND 192.2 POS pt. 2

Paul Gauguin was thirty-five when he made the momentous decision to abandon his lucrative career as a Paris stockbroker and devote himself full time to painting. Gauguin’s bold use of flat, unmixed color gave his paintings a strong sense of personal expression, but his work struggled to find acceptance at the time. Poverty and obscurity dominated Gauguin’s years as an artist. Not even a move to Tahiti could bring him happiness. Yet the paintings that he created there are now recognized as masterpieces of the Post-Impressionist age.

'''Manet'''

DVD ND 192 IMP pt.6

This entertaining program tells the story of one of the art world’s most colorful characters. A true maverick and a highly controversial figure in his day, Edouard Manet became a father figure to the Impressionist movement because of his stand against the restrictions and conventions of the French salon. Despite acceptance by the establishment late in his life, he died a bitter man.

'''Monet'''

DVD ND 192 IMP pt.1

It was Claude Monet’s Impression: soleil levant which gave the impressionist school its name. Famed for seeing the subtle nuances of color, light and atmosphere in landscape, Monet’s great works include Haystacks and Water Lilies. This program features footage from L’Orangerie and from Monet’s house and gardens at Giverny plus special film shot at London’s Savoy Hotel, from where Monet painted his famous views of London.


'''Munch'''

DVD 192.2 POS pt. 5

In 1893, a Norwegian artist create a masterpiece which became a defining image of the 20th century. The Scream is a picture whose sense of anguish reveals much about our own lives, as well as the life of its creator. All his life, Edvard Much suffered the consequences of a childhood surrounded by madness and death. By middle-age his own being broke down completely. But by then, his pictures and prints had gained him fame across Europe. As a young man, Munch left Norway to live the bohemian life. He developed a passion for the greatest contemporary art of the Post-Impressionist age, and his own mature work reflected the influence of Seurat, Ganguin and Van Gogh amongst others.

'''Pissarro'''

DVD ND 192 IMP pt.4

This is the story of the life and work of Camille Pissarro, the West-Indian born leader of the original Impressionists and the only artist from that school to exhibit at all eight of the exhibitions from 1874 to 1886.

'''Renoir'''

DVD ND 192 IMP pt. 3

Arguably the greatest of all Impressionist artists, Pierre August Renoir’s brilliant Le Moulin de la Gallette created an immense controversy in its day. Famous for his use of hot reds, orange and gold to portray nudes in sunlight, Renoir’s later life was blighted by arthritis which crippled his hands. This fascinating story of the man and his work includes a visit to the artist’s home Cagnes-sur-Mer on the island of La Grenouillere, and unique footage of an Impressionist festival.

'''Rousseau'''

DVD ND 192.2 POS pt. 6

Henri Roussea was a true amateur. His professional life was spent working as a customs official. But in his spare time, he painted and was utterly convinced of the greatness of his art, despite his complete lack of formal training. Although he was heavily criticized by many for his use of brightly colored images and child-like techniques, he did bring a sense of vitality, charm and innocence to his paintings.

'''Seraut'''

DVD ND 192 IMP pt. 5

This program is an entertaining and informative profile of Georges Pierre Seurat, the inventor of the technique known as Pointillism in which a whole picture is made up of tiny rectangles of pure color which merge together when viewed from afar.

'''Toulouse-Lautrec'''

DVD ND 192.2 POS pt. 4

Henri Toulouse-Lautrec was ultimately a tragic figure in the history of art. Crippled by an ill-proportioned body, he lived for just thirty six years before the effects of alcoholism and syphilis took their final toll. His dissolute life spent in the brothels and nightclubs of late 19th century Paris provided the subject matter for his finest work. His radical, boldly-colored paintings and posters of the famous Moulin Rouge nightclub succeeded in conveying the unique feeling and energy of contemporary Parisian nightlife.

'''VanGogh'''

DVD ND 192.2 POS pt. 3

Vincent Van Gogh remains the ultimate example of the tortured artistic genius. His whole life was a struggle against poverty, loneliness and mental illness. In a feverish spell of painting prior to his death, Vincent Van Gogh proved himself a great artist. The hundreds of canvases that he painted in the South of France are now recognized as masterpieces of the Post-Impressionist age. His use of thick, swirling color was a conscious attempt to express his own tortured state of mind through his work. Though he sold just one painting in his lifetime, works such as Sunflowers now sell for tens of millions of dollars.

Similar Lib Guides

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email
 

Art Books

Cover Art
A Guide to Drawing - Mendelowitz, Daniel M, Faber, David L, and Wakeham, Duane A.
Call Number: NC 730 .M396 2007
ISBN: 0495006947

Cover Art
Lessons on Shading - Sparks, W.E.
ISBN: 0486454517

Cover Art
Louvre: 400 Masterpieces - Soulie, Daniel
Call Number: N 2030.S68 2008
ISBN: 081097116X

 
 

Please share your feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip