This is the "Home" page of the "Business Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Finance  

Find resources for your business finance classes.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/businessfinance Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Secret History of the Credit Card

Business Finance Websites

  • Annual Reports
    view the annual reports of many businesses online and for free.
  • Bankruptcy Records
    Check out Lexis Nexis' collection of bankruptcy records.
  • Bloomberg
    Detailed stock quotes are available by searching for company name or stock symbol. In addition to stock quotes, information is also available on company earnings, number of shares, return on equity, and dividend yield.
  • Edgar
    For mutual funds prospectuses, click "Search for company filings" choose "Mutual Fund Prospectuses" This search retrieves mutual fund prospectuses and other "485" forms for a specified mutual fund.
  • Finance and Mortgage Calculators
  • Free Annual Reports
  • Market Watch
    Provides up to the minute stock quotes and detailed financial information on American and some international companies. General market news includes global markets, industries, initial public offerings, and news concerning the economy and politics.
  • Nasdaq
    Provides detailed stock information on companies traded on the NASDAQ and other stock exchanges. Included are information quotes, summary quotes, company news, company financials and off-hour trading information.
  • Online Business Journals
    Links to online versions of business journals, business newspapers, online television news, news feeds and much more.
  • The Fiscal Times
    Read this newspaper site that is all about the economy, jobs, business finance, and other related topics.
  • The SEC Mutual Fund Cost Calculator
    A tool for comparing mutual funds The mutual fnd cost calculator enables investors to easily estimate and compare the costs of owning mutual funds. The cost calculator takes the mystery and math out of the cost equation, revealing how costs add up.
  • Yahoo Finance
    Includes quotes for stocks, bonds and options for U.S. publicly traded companies. Information includes analyst opinions, research reports, key statistics, industry served, and competitors.
 

Business Finance Books

Cover Art
Finance Basics for Tough Times - Harvard Business School Press
Call Number: HG 179 .F456 2009
ISBN: 1422129675
The Skills You Need Today collection features concise and handy guides to developing the critical skills managers need the most in challenging times. Packed with real-life examples, self-tests, and practical advice from the world's top business leaders, Skills You Need Today will help you survive--and thrive--in the economic downturn.

Cover Art
Killing Sacred Cows - Gunderson, Garrett B.
Call Number: HG 179.G7955 2008
ISBN: 1929774516
Our culture is riddled with destructive myths about money and prosperity that are severely limiting the power, creativity, and financial potential of individuals. In Killing Sacred Cows, Garrett B. Gunderson boldly exposes ingrained fallacies and misguided traditions in the world of personal finance. He presents a revolutionary perspective that can create unprecedented opportunity and wealth for thoughtful, mission-driven individuals.
Killing Sacred Cows is a must-read for brave individuals willing to question common assumptions and teachings, overcome the herd mentality, break through financial myths, and live a purposeful, passionate, and prosperous life.

Cover Art
Rich Dad/Poor Dad: what the rich teach their kids about money that the poor and middle class do not! - Kiyosaki, Robert T.
Call Number: HF 5386 .K59x 2000
ISBN: 0762434279
Anyone stuck in the rat-race of living paycheck to paycheck, enslaved by the house mortgage and bills, will appreciate this breath of fresh air. Learn about the methods that have created more than a few millionaires. This is the first abridged miniature edition of Rich Dad Poor Dad. The full-length edition has sold millions as a New York Times bestseller. As proven by the runaway success of The Secret and like titles, changing one’s thinking to influence one’s fortune sells big, and forms the basis of rich dad’s advice. Learn to think like a rich dad and let your money work for you!

Cover Art
The Autobiography of Andrew Carnegie and the Gospel of Wealth - Carnegie, Andrew
Call Number: CT 275 .C3 A3 2009
ISBN: 1420932969
From his humble beginnings as a Scottish immigrant to his ascension to wealth and power as a 'captain of industry,' Andrew Carnegie embodied the American 'rags to riches' dream. Alive in the time of the Civil War, Carnegie was the epitome of a self-made man, first working his way up in a telegraph company and then making astute investments in the railroad industry. Through hard work, perseverance, and an earnest desire to develop himself in his education, culture, and personal economy, Carnegie finally made his considerable fortune in steel. What is perhaps most remarkable about this historical figure, however, was his overwhelmingly generous practice of philanthropy in his later life. In his essay "The Gospel of Wealth," Carnegie relates his ideas on the distribution of the rich's wealth to the poor in a responsible capitalistic society. In setting an example of his own beliefs, Carnegie gave away millions of dollars for the public good, demonstrating his own willingness to promote human welfare and the betterment of man.

Cover Art
The Cheapskate Next Door - Yeager, Jeff
Call Number: HG 179.Y426 2010
ISBN: 0767931327
From Publishers Weekly
Yeager (The Ultimate Cheapskate's Road Map to True Riches) is back with another energetic, likably eccentric lesson on living happily well below your means. Interviewing a variety of self-professed cheapskates, he finds—despite a diversity of lifestyles, backgrounds, and beliefs— common practices and philosophies when it came to money; their knowledge of how to live on less has insulated them from the economic crash. He presents their tips on frugal living in grocery shopping, entertainment, and sensible parenting, but the real value is in Yeager's persuasive argument that an onset of Spending Anxiety Disorder is good for our wallets, our communities, and the environment. If we change the way we think about want vs. need, we can focus our time and attention on the truly valuable things—family, charity, passions, the early retirement that will make enjoying them longer possible—and if we consume sparingly, thoughtfully, and fully, our possessions will not consume us. Yeager and his Miser Advisers are proof that living more frugally isn't about sacrifice—it's about making choices every day to live a better, happier, more thoughtful life with less.

Cover Art
The Millionaire Next Door - Stanley, Thomas J.
Call Number: HC 110 .W4 S73x 1998
ISBN: 0671015206
How can you join the ranks of America's wealthy (defined as people whose net worth is over one million dollars)? It's easy, say doctors Stanley and Danko, who have spent the last 20 years interviewing members of this elite club: you just have to follow seven simple rules. The first rule is, always live well below your means. The last rule is, choose your occupation wisely.

Cover Art
The Power of Positive Profit: How You Can Improve Any Bottom Line in Sales, - Foster, Graham
Call Number: HG 4028 .P7 F67 2007
ISBN: 0470052341
When businesses struggle they often try to make up for it by cutting costs to increase sales, but volume selling isn’t real success because you can’t do it forever. In this book, Graham Foster shares powerful business lessons on how to sell at the right price and maintain solid margins. This is the ultimate guide to keep your company growing and healthy.

Cover Art
The Richest Man Who Ever Lived: King Solomon's Secrets to Success, Wealth, and - Scott, Steven K, & Smalley, Gary
Call Number: BF 637 .S8 S389 2006
ISBN: 1400071976
In this short, powerful book, multimillionaire and bestselling author Steven K. Scott reveals King
Solomon’s breakthrough strategies to achieve a life of financial success and personal fulfillment. Scott reveals Solomon’s key for winning every race, explains how to resolve conflicts and turn enemies into allies, and discloses the five qualities essential to becoming a valued and admired person at work and in your personal life.

Cover Art
Think and Grow Rich - Hill, Napoleon
Call Number: HF 5386 .H57
ISBN: 0979415470
Think and grow rich is the most important financial book ever written. Napoleon Hill researched more than forty millionaires to find out what made them the men that they were. In this book he imparts that knowledge to you. Once you've read this book you will understand what gives certain people an edge over everyone else. By following the advice laid out clearly in this book you'll be the one with an edge. It's time to stop wondering what it's like to be rich and start knowing. This book has changed countless lives and it can change yours! Unlike many of the other editions on the market today, this edition is complete and unabridged!

 
 

Please share your feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email

Business Finance Databases

 

Find more books on Business Finance

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip