Online Encyclopedias and Ebooks
- Analyzing Operations in BusinessThe field of operations management is increasingly recognized as being crucial to the success of a company. The premise of this book is that learning specific analytical techniques can provide a deeper understanding of the problems in operations management than merely reading about these problems. The book is concise while still providing a broad discussion of the issues and details to learn these valuable tools.
- Business Fundamentals
- Credo Reference- Business: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
- HR from the Heart : Inspiring Stories and Strategies for Building the People Side of Great Business by Libby SartainAs you can probably guess from the title, this book is all about how to hire great people for your company as an HR employee but it is also about how to get hired by the HR department.
- Managing for High Performance by Michael ColensoThis manual type book talks all about how to be the best manager you can possibly be in order to get the kind of results you are looking for from your employees. Specific steps and ideas on how to measure your results are also included.
- The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management
- The Blackwell Handbook of Cross‐Cultural Management
- The Blackwell Handbook of Global Management
- The Blackwell Handbook of Strategic Management
- Wooden on LeadershipJohn Wooden’s goal in 41 years of coaching never changed; namely, to get maximum effort and peak performance from each of his players in the manner that best served the team. Wooden on Leadership explains step-by-step how he pursued and accomplished this goal. Focusing on Wooden’s 12 Lessons in Leadership and his acclaimed Pyramid of Success, it outlines the mental, emotional, and physical qualities essential to building a winning organization, and shows you how to develop the skill.
Comments (0)
Business Management Books
Call Number: HD 38.2.G76 2002
ISBN: 0658014897
Becoming a Successful Manager provides hands-on exercises and advice to help neophyte managers make the difficult transition from managing only themselves to managing others. It shows new managers how to create a positive, productive environment, one that motivates and brings out the best in employees while providing maximum benefit to their employers.
Call Number: HF 5549.12.H554 2011
ISBN: 142216389X
You never dreamed being the boss would be so hard. You're caught in a web of conflicting expectations from subordinates, your supervisor, peers, and customers.
You're not alone. As Linda Hill and Kent Lineback reveal in Being the Boss, becoming an effective manager is a painful, difficult journey. It's trial and error, endless effort, and slowly acquired personal insight. Many managers never complete the journey. At best, they just learn to get by. At worst, they become terrible bosses.
This new book explains how to avoid that fate, by mastering three imperatives:
· Manage yourself: Learn that management isn't about getting things done yourself. It's about accomplishing things through others.
· Manage a network: Understand how power and influence work in your organization and build a network of mutually beneficial relationships to navigate your company's complex political environment.
· Manage a team: Forge a high-performing "we" out of all the "I"s who report to you.
Packed with compelling stories and practical guidance, Being the Boss is an indispensable guide for not only first-time managers but all managers seeking to master the most daunting challenges of leadership.
You're not alone. As Linda Hill and Kent Lineback reveal in Being the Boss, becoming an effective manager is a painful, difficult journey. It's trial and error, endless effort, and slowly acquired personal insight. Many managers never complete the journey. At best, they just learn to get by. At worst, they become terrible bosses.
This new book explains how to avoid that fate, by mastering three imperatives:
· Manage yourself: Learn that management isn't about getting things done yourself. It's about accomplishing things through others.
· Manage a network: Understand how power and influence work in your organization and build a network of mutually beneficial relationships to navigate your company's complex political environment.
· Manage a team: Forge a high-performing "we" out of all the "I"s who report to you.
Packed with compelling stories and practical guidance, Being the Boss is an indispensable guide for not only first-time managers but all managers seeking to master the most daunting challenges of leadership.
Employee buy-in : a manager's guide to achieving results through increased employee commitment - Ryan, John.
Call Number: HD 5650 .R83 2007
ISBN: 0979372720
How to Get Your Employees to WANT to Do Their Job. Managing employees is about achieving results. In order to produce optimum results, managers need to move employees beyond compliance to commitment. Through a comprehensive 6-step model, this book will show you how to achieve results through increased employee commitment.
Call Number: HD 66 .H54 2001
ISBN: 0688170366
Organizational guru Ken Blanchard has long had a knack for writing management books that are easy and fun to read (The One Minute Manager, plus 11 other bestsellers). Now, in his latest, he becomes (with the help of three coauthors) something of a novelist, relating the saga of the Riverbend Warriors, a come-from-behind boys' hockey team, to teach a broader lesson about the importance of, and the key dynamics behind, good teamwork in organizations of every sort.
Call Number: HD 57.7.L4315 2000
ISBN: 1576751740
Using the story/parable format so popular these days, Leadership and Self-Deception takes a novel psychological approach to leadership. It's not what you do that matters, say the authors (presumably plural--the book is credited to the esteemed Arbinger Institute), but why you do it. Latching onto the latest leadership trend won't make people follow you if your motives are selfish--people can smell a rat, even one that says it's trying to empower them. The tricky thing is, we don't know that our motivation is flawed. We deceive ourselves in subtle ways into thinking that we're doing the right thing for the right reason. We really do know what the right thing to do is, but this constant self-justification becomes such an ingrained habit that it's hard to break free of it--it's as though we're trapped in a box, the authors say.
Call Number: HD 31.D773 2008
ISBN: 0061252662
The essential book on management from the man who invented the discipline
Now completely revised and updated for the first time.
Now completely revised and updated for the first time.
Call Number: HF 5549.5.P35 P845 2009
ISBN: 1405177624
“Dr Pulakos is one of the foremost experts on the practical application of performance management approaches. She presents a down-to-earth, pragmatic approach to gaining the best value from performance management. This book is for everyone involved in performance management - executives, managers, and human resources professionals.” -- Dr Nancy Rotchford, Director, Associate Assessment Worldwide, Ingram Micro, Inc.
Call Number: HC 102.5.B46 A3
ISBN: 0470432381
A pioneer in studying leadership and group dynamics, Bennis, at age 85, looks back on a life and career focused on realization of individual and group potential. As a 19-year-old platoon member in WWII, Bennis began a lifetime of observing the kinds of pressures that create leaders. At Antioch College, Bennis met and became the protégé of Doug McGregor, who helped get him into MIT and introduced him to group dynamics. Bennis found Antioch and MIT fertile ground for ideas and the urgency to understand collective behavior, particularly after the Holocaust and the war. He recalls a golden age of social science, meeting and working with Abraham Maslow, Erik Erikson, Robert Merton, and other pioneers in the nascent fields of psychoanalysis and group therapy. Bennis, author of the best-selling On Becoming a Leader (1989) and 29 other books on organizational dynamics and leadership, also recalls career and marital ups and downs and offers lessons and a critical self-analysis. A fascinating look at the life of a pioneering researcher and business consultant and the ties between social science and business management.
Call Number: HD 31 .M23 2007
ISBN: 0741439336
The Art of Managing.How to Build a Better Workplace and Relationships will show you how to be a better leader-a better team player-starting today!
LDSBC Reference Librarian |
Find database articles
- ABIA Business Database- Search business related newspapers, magazines, journals and newspapers.
- Business News from Multiple NewspapersAccess a wide variety of articles from various business related newspapers.
- Business Source PremierBusiness database- articles on all types of business material
- Business Source Premier Industry and Company Research
- Lexis NexisAnother database full of articles on business, news and legal topics.
Business Management Websites
- About Management
- Business Management
- Business Management from Entrepreneur Magazine
- Business Management Managing PeopleA website with some great resources on aspects of managing people in small business.
- HR Guide
- Management Help Topics and Articles
- MIT Sloan Teaching Innovation Resources.Though some business schools charge for the case studies they develop as teaching aids, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology announced today that it is making a set of teaching materials available free online.
MITs Sloan School of Management has unveiled a set of case studies, videos, interactive teaching tools, and teachers notes on a new Web site. - Open Directory Business Management
CDS
Call Number: CD HD 82.Wag
ISBN: 159562998X
12: The Elements of Great Managing is the long-awaited sequel to the 1999 runaway bestseller First, Break All the Rules. Grounded in Gallup's 10 million employee and manager interviews spanning 114 countries, 12 follows great managers as they harness employee engagement to turn around a failing call center, save a struggling hotel, improve patient care in a hospital, maintain production through power outages, and successfully face a host of other challenges in settings around the world.





Loading...
