Skip to main content

English 101: Annotated Bibliography

Resources to help students complete their assignments in English 101.

Don't Forget

Quality Sources Used Well

10 Ways to Evaluate Sources

Consider these criteria when selecting sources. Make sure you choose a source that is credible, objective, and thorough.

 Timeliness

When was it written? Is it recent enough to be relevant?

 Audience

For whom was it written? Is it too complex or too simple?

 Peer Reviewed

Approved by other experts? A scholarly source?

 Format & Writing Quality

Well written? Does it use good spelling and grammar?

 Authority of Author

Is he or she an expert? What is his or her background, education, etc.

 Intent

Does the author intend to inform or persuade the reader? What is the goal of the source?

 Relevancy

Is the scope of the source appropriate? Does it match your topic?

 Reputation of the Publisher

How long has the publisher been in business? Are they highly ranked?

 Objective or Subjective

Is the author presenting information or drawing conclusions for you? Is the language neutral or emotional?

 Bias

Does the source present multiple sides of an issue? Does the author have an agenda?

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography consists of a list of sources that you have cited, summarized, and evaluated. Below are some tips for creating an annotated bibliography. For detailed directions on what to include make sure to ask your English teacher and to follow the specific directions you are given. If you need help with creating citations or finding good sources, come by the library! We would love to help you!

SPaG Sheets

Make sure that you don't have any grammatical or spelling errors in your paper. It lessens your credibility as an author. Many instructors use a SPaG (spelling, punctuation, and grammar) sheets when grading your assignments. Download a PDF of the SPaG sheets or visit the SPaG libguide.

Copy Editing Marks

Finding Articles

An annotated bibliography consists of a list of sources that you have cited, summarized, and evaluated. Below is a list of databases where you can find good sources that you can use to support your argument and to include in your annotated bibliography. If you need help searching a database, come by the library! We would love to help you!