Job and Career Hunting Books
50 best jobs for your personality - Farr, J. Michael
Call Number: HF 5381.15 .F3618 2005
Call Number: HF 5383 .A45 2006
ISBN: 1593572549
Call Number: HF 5381 .E52 2005 vol.1 2005
ISBN: 081606055X
ISBN: 0768927994
Call Number: REF L901.A55 2011
ISBN: 0768926874
Call Number: REF 901.P448 2012
ISBN: 0768926882
Call Number: HF 53.81.C3687 2012
ISBN: 1405177330
Career Paths provides practical tools and tips for developing and implementing career paths in the workplace.
Discusses available resources organizations can use in developing career paths
Includes a sample career path guide
Describes how career path efforts can be integrated with recruitment and hiring, strategic planning, succession management, employee development, and retention programs
Explains how to improve employee retention using career paths and how to integrate career paths into employee training and development systems
Provides conceptual and practical toolkits for constructing career paths
Discusses dimensions that impact career paths, such as employee movement and the nature of employee expertise.
Discusses available resources organizations can use in developing career paths
Includes a sample career path guide
Describes how career path efforts can be integrated with recruitment and hiring, strategic planning, succession management, employee development, and retention programs
Explains how to improve employee retention using career paths and how to integrate career paths into employee training and development systems
Provides conceptual and practical toolkits for constructing career paths
Discusses dimensions that impact career paths, such as employee movement and the nature of employee expertise.
Call Number: BF 637.S4 B79 2003
ISBN: 0345485920
In What Should I Do with My Life? Po Bronson manages to create a career book that is a page-turner. His 50 vivid profiles of people searching for "their soft spot--their true calling" will engage readers because Bronson is asking himself the same question. He explores his premise, that "nothing is braver than people facing up to their own identity," as an anthropologist and autobiographer. He tackles thorny, nuanced issues about self-determination. Among them: paradoxes of money and meaning, authorship and destiny, brain candy and novelty versus soul food. Bronson’s stories, limited to professional people and complete with photos, are gems. They include a Los Angeles lawyer who became a priest, a Harvard MBA catfish farmer turned biotech executive, and a Silicon Valley real estate agent who opened a leather crafts factory in Costa Rica.
Call Number: HF 5382.72.U6 B755 2009
ISBN: 0670020826
Has it happened yet? Have you been asked The Question? You know the one. It’s the question that haunts you from your early undergrad days to months, even years, after you graduate… “What are you going to do with that major?” Inevitably this unleashes waves of anxiety, whether you’re a liberal arts student unsure what your degree has prepared you for, someone with a “practical” major whose career field is oversaturated (or just unappealing), or a recent grad still searching for inspiration. But take heart – The Question is fundamentally flawed. Your major does not equal your job!
Nationally known career counselor Dr. Katharine Brooks dispels the myths and the old-fashioned thinking that can make your transition to the “real world” so daunting and chaotic.
Nationally known career counselor Dr. Katharine Brooks dispels the myths and the old-fashioned thinking that can make your transition to the “real world” so daunting and chaotic.
Comments (0)
Find Articles on Careers from Databases
All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.
- Business Source PremierBusiness database- articles on all types of business material
Company profile reports - Business Source Premier Tutorial
- ERICArticles all about education and related issues.
- Fergusons Career Guidance Center/Facts on FileFacts on File- useful information for careers and majors.
- HooversInformation on companies, people, industries and news. Find out who works at a variety of public and private companies and how you can contact them. Discover who are the major competitors for nearly every major public and private company.
- Hoovers Tutorial
- IBIS WorldAccess industry reports for many industries. The reports are comprehensive, and well organized, easy to read and give you what you need to know about nearly every industry you can imagine. There are also company profiles as well.
- IBIS World Tutorial
- MEDLINEDatabase full of information on medical and health topics.
- Millitary and Government CollectionInformation about government careers.
- PrivcoPrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
- Professional Development CollectionCareer resources with an emphasis on education.
- Vocational and Careers DatabaseSearch resources related to vocational and careers database.
Top Careers in Two Years Series
Call Number: HF 5382.5.T677 2007 vol. 4
ISBN: 0816068992
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2007 vol. 3
ISBN: 0816068984
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2008 vol. 8
ISBN: 0816069034
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2007 vol. 2
ISBN: 0816068976
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2008 vol. 5
ISBN: 081606900X
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2008 vol. 1
ISBN: 0816068968
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2008 vol. 6
ISBN: 0816069018
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2007 vol. 7
ISBN: 0816069026
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5 T677 2007 vol. 10
ISBN: 0816069050
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2007 vol. 9
ISBN: 0816069042
Call Number: HF 5382.5.U5.T677 2007 vol. 11
ISBN: 0816069069
Ebooks
- 101 Secrets to Career Success
- Boost Your Interview IQ
- Careers for born leaders & other decisive types
- Careers for color connoisseurs & other visual types
- Careers for financial mavens & other money movers
- Careers for high-energy people & other go-getters
- Careers for plant lovers & other green thumb types
- Careers for self-starters & other entrepreneurial types
- Careers for writers & others who have a way with words
- Careers in advertising
- Careers in communications
- Careers in international business
- Great jobs for anthropology majors
- Opportunities in allied health careers
- Opportunities in film careers
- Opportunities in foreign language careers
- Opportunities in nutrition careers
- Opportunities in photography careers
- Opportunities in teaching careers
- Resumes for sales and marketing careers
- The five patterns of extraordinary careers : the guide for achieving success and satisfaction
- The Image of Success: Make a Great Impression and Land the Job You Want
LDSBC Reference Librarian |
Careers and Job Seekers Podcast
Careers DVDS
The Very Quick Job Search Video
Call Number: DVD HF 5382.7 VER
The Virtual Job Interview
Call Number: DVD HF 5549.5.I6 VIR
Testing Center Search
Find information on tests you may need to take for various careers.
Safari Technology Ebooks
- 101 Secrets to Career Success
- A Career-Changer’s Checklist: Twelve Common-Sense Questions to Find Your Career
- Get a Life, Not a Job: Do What You Love and Let Your Talents Work For You
- Get The Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring: Take Charge of Your Career, Find a Job You Love, and Earn What You Deserve
- Unlock the Hidden Job Market: 6 Steps to a Successful Job Search When Times Are Tough




Loading...
Loading...
