This is the "Home" page of the "How to Find Materials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Find Materials  

Learn how to find different kinds of library materials
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/howtofind Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

How to Find Articles

There are four ways you can find journal articles.

The first way is to search through the databases and find journal articles. This is the most common and probably the easiest depending upon your subject and how much you already know about what you are looking for.

The second way is to search using our electronic journal locator.  If you already know the title of the journal you would like to search, then this method is the easiest.  You can also search for articles within journals according to subject. If you have no idea what database would be best for your search then you might find this method easier. Although the disadvantage to this method is that you have to search through the journals one at a time instead of searching many at one time.

The third way is to do a search using our multiple databases search. This will search more than one database for your topic at a time and pull up journal articles from all of these. You do have to be careful though with this option as you will also get results from newspapers and other sources.

The fourth way is to do a search with Google Scholar. This can be beneficial but it can be more time consuming as it will give you quite a few results for articles which we do not have access to.

How to Find Databases

Do you already know the name of the database you are looking for?

If so, the best way to find the database is to go to the Databases A to Z page.

If you do not know the name of the database you are looking for, you can browse either by subject or by name.

You can also try doing a general search using the search multiple databases box first and then go to the databases by subject.

For most searches, you should be able to try any of the subject databases and locate the material you are looking for. If you are still having trouble though, you may want to try one of the general databases such as Academic One File, or Academic Search Premier.

If you need a one on one consultation or further assistance please ask us for help at the third floor reference desk or click on one of the research help links to email us your questions.

We have also created tutorials to help you learn how to use the various databases.

How to Find Newspapers

If you are looking for something local or current, our library subscribes to both the Deseret News and the Salt Lake Tribune as well as the Investor’s Business Daily, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Enterprise and Chronicle of Higher Education Newspapers. The most recent issues of these newspapers are kept with the magazines on the fourth floor of the library.

If you would like to find older newspaper articles or search through other newspapers that the library does not have in print, we have several newspaper databases.

How to Find Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in the LDSBC library are all located in our reference section which consists of the right hand side of the far left shelf opposite the multi-media materials as well as a few items on the same side as the multi-media materials and the shelf just to the right of it. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries cannot be checked out but photocopies may be made inside the library for 10 cents a page.

The library has specialty encyclopedias and dictionaries on many topics including: business, accounting, medical and law.

 

You can also find a large selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference materials in the

Gale Virtual Reference Database.

We also have a subscription to the Encyclopedia Britannica Online.

 

How to Find Images

There are many resources available to help you find images for use with art, interior design or other projects.

One of the best places is through BYU and their Museum of Art Collection.

You can also try Microsoft Clip Art.

The Art Databases may also have images you could use.

There are also two popular websites online, Flickr and photobucket were you can find images.

For the most part you may be free to use these in any assignments but if you plan to publish or sell your work you will need to check the copyright rules for the images in question.

How to Find Ebooks

The LDSBC Library offers access to several thousand ebooks via our netlibrary and ebrary collections. You can access these collections separately by clicking on the appropriate link. We also have access to some additional ebooks via various databases. These are included along with the search results.

You can also select the search only for electronic books option from the Library Catalog. This is where you will find the most current ebooks including many popular dummies titles as well as microsoft office titles.

 

How to Find Books

 

How to Find Databases

 

How to Find Newspapers

 

How to Find CDS and DVDS

The library has a fairly large collection of DVDS and Videos. Those which are on reserve for a class such as for the music class are behind the reference and circulation desk on the third floor. DVDS and Videos of general interest are located on the same shelf as the CDS on the far left hand shelf near the reference materials. We have a new series of art history DVDS as well as a selection of LDS fiction and non-fiction films, among others.
 

How to Find CDS and DVDS

 

How to Find Images

 

How to Find Ebooks

 

How to Find Articles

 

How to Find Resources by Subject

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip