This is the "Home" page of the "Entrepreneurship" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Entrepreneurship  

Find library resources to help you with your entrepreneurship class and starting a business.
Last Updated: May 1, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/entrepreneurship Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find database articles

All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.

  • Ebrary
    Large collection of ebooks including several business books and books on how to write a business plan.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Online encyclopedias including several on business plans.
  • Lexis Nexis
    Another database full of articles on business, news and legal topics.
  • Mint Global
    Access detailed financial information, company stock reports and information from the Dow Jones and other stock markets as well as industry profiles.

Useful Websites

 

Starting a Business in Utah Guide

 

New Books on Entrepreneurship

Cover Art
Nail It Then Scale It - Furr, Nathan and Ahlstrom, Paul
Call Number: HD 62.5.F87 2011
ISBN: 0983723605
Why do most new businesses fail, yet a few entrepreneurs have a habit of winning over and over again? The shocking discovery of years of research and trial is that most startups fail by doing the “right things,” but doing them out of order. In other words, human nature combined with our entrepreneurial drive puts us on autopilot to become part of the 70% to 90% of ventures that fail. From Thomas Edison to Steve Jobs, the Nail It Then Scale It method is based on pattern recognition of the timeless principles and key practices used by successful entrepreneurs to repeatedly innovate. These processes and principles have now been distilled into a handbook to guide entrepreneurs and innovative product managers to victory. Stop following conventional wisdom and join the few entrepreneurs that can consistently take their innovative idea all the way to a successful company launch.

Cover Art
How She Does It: How Women Entrepreneurs Are Changing the Rules of Business Success - Heffernan, Margaret
Call Number: HD 6053.H37 2007
ISBN: 0670038237
Women-run companies are more likely to stay in business than the average U.S. firm, to grow at three times the average rate, create jobs at twice the average rate and produce profits faster, according to former CEO and BBC producer Heffernan. To find out how and why, she interviewed hundreds of women business owners. Although the way her results confirmed stereotypes about gender differences made her queasy, it turned out that women business owners typically possess the characteristics experts think are needed in 21st-century businesses: combining "discipline, focus, detachment, and systematic thinking with playfulness, empathy, and design." She found that many women started their own businesses after working for corporations that didn't respect or listen to them. In charge of their own companies, their abilities to assert their values, nurture their employees and customers, "orchestrate" rather than "command and control," emphasize collaboration rather than competition, stay open to change, ask for help, learn from mistakes and make time for family became a formula for success. Heffernan's tone matches the frenetic pace and idealistic underpinnings of her interviewees' packed lives. Although aspiring entrepreneurs may wish for more specific details, this book inspires hope for a holistic alternative to the profits-only mentality

Cover Art
Enchantment - Kawasaki, Guy
Call Number: HD 30.3.K38 2011
ISBN: 1591843790
Enchantment, as defined by bestselling business guru Guy Kawasaki, is not about manipulating people. It transforms situations and relationships. It converts hostility into civility and civility into affinity. It changes the skeptics and cynics into the believers and the undecided into the loyal. Enchantment can happen during a retail transaction, a high-level corporate negotiation, or a Facebook update. And when done right, it's more powerful than traditional persuasion, influence, or marketing techniques.

Kawasaki argues that in business and personal interactions, your goal is not merely to get what you want but to bring about a voluntary, enduring, and delightful change in other people. By enlisting their own goals and desires, by being likable and trustworthy, and by framing a cause that others can embrace, you can change hearts, minds, and actions.

Cover Art
The Art of the Start - Kawasaki, Guy
Call Number: HD 62.5.K38 2004
ISBN: 1591840562
What does it take to turn ideas into action? What are the elements of a perfect pitch? How do you win the war for talent? How do you establish a brand without bucks? These are some of the issues everyone faces when starting or revitalizing any undertaking, and Guy Kawasaki, former marketing maven of Apple Computer, provides the answers.

The Art of the Start will give you the essential steps to launch great products, services, and companies—whether you are dreaming of starting the next Microsoft or a not-for-profit that’s going to change the world. It also shows managers how to unleash entrepreneurial thinking at established companies, helping them foster the pluck and creativity that their businesses need to stay ahead of the pack. Kawasaki provides readers with GIST—Great Ideas for Starting Things—including his field-tested insider’s techniques for bootstrapping, branding, networking, recruiting, pitching, rainmaking, and, most important in this fickle consumer climate, building buzz.

Cover Art
Driven: An Autobiography - Miller, Larry H.
Call Number: HD 9710.25.U62 A3 2010
ISBN: 1606416561
When he was sixteen years old, Larry Miller came home one summer night to find all his possessions sitting in three bags on the porch of his darkened house. The door was locked. From those troubled and humble beginnings rose a man whose influence has touched, according to reliable pollsters, more than 99 percent of the population of Utah as well as myriads of people worldwide. Seven months before Miller passed away, he began working with Doug Robinson on this biography. Written in first person, the book talks about the many facets of Larrys life and legacy and speaks candidly about the people and experiences that influenced him. It doesn t just tell Larry Millers story, it shares lessons painful as well as joyful lessons he has learned from his experiences. This fascinating and inspiring biography includes:A moving foreword by Utah Jazz great John Stockton, An epilogue written by Gail Miller, Larry s wife, Numerous photographs, A firsthand look at the incredible breadth of Larry Miller s work and contributions in business, in sports, in the arts, in his support of the Joseph Smith Papers Project, as well as his personal humanitarian service, A full section addressing the question Larry was most often asked: How did you do it?

Cover Art
Business Model Generation - Oseterwalder, Alexander and Pigneur, Yves
Call Number: HD 30.28.o778x 2010
ISBN: 0470876417
Business Model Generation is a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation.
Co-created by 470 "Business Model Canvas" practitioners from 45 countries, the book features a beautiful, highly visual, 4-color design that takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization. It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Along the way, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition.

Business Model Generation features practical innovation techniques used today by leading consultants and companies worldwide, including 3M, Ericsson, Capgemini, Deloitte, and others. Designed for doers, it is for those ready to abandon outmoded thinking and embrace new models of value creation: for executives, consultants, entrepreneurs, and leaders of all organizations. If you're ready to change the rules, you belong to "the business model generation!"

 

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email

Ebooks and Online Encyclopedias

  • Business Plans That Work
    Arms entrepreneurs and small business owners with an easy-to-follow template for writing persuasive business plans, along with proven models that can be used to analyze potential business opportunities from initial idea to viable venture. This value-packed book will show both entrepreneurs and current business owners how to:

    * Determine what to include in each plan, why, and for whom
    * Recognize and avoid common pitfalls in the process
  • Ebrary Ebooks Collection
  • Protecting Your Ideas for Free
    Aimed at businesses that thrive on idea capital, this primer on intellectual property law spells out the easy and important steps to take to protect ideas such as brands, recipes, inventions, or artwork. In an increasingly competitive business world, companies live or die by the freshness and power of their ideas; protecting these works is not complicated and can cost nothing if entrepreneurs take action early, from realizing what intellectual capital their business might have to consider.
  • Start Your Own Business : The Only Start-Up Book You'll Ever Need
    A collection of tips and strategies for creating a business from scratch, offering help with every stage of development of the business. Shows how to conduct market market research, develop a system for bookkeeping and taxes, create a winning business plan, delve into e-commerce, and more.
  • Starting From Scratch : Secrets From 21 Ordinary People Who Made the Entrepreneurial Leap
    In Starting from Scratch, Wes Moss shares with you the passion, values, and inspiration that led people just like you to exit Corporate Street and merge onto Entrepreneurial Avenue. Successful entrepreneurs from 21 different industries and business concepts—a lawyer turned gourmet baker, a paralegal turned yoga studio owner, a saleswoman turned designer shoe retailer, to name a few—reveal secrets guaranteed to put you on the road to independence.
  • Steps to Small Business Start-Up : Everything You Need to Know to Turn Your Idea Into a Successful Business
    Just as the title suggests this book explains everything you need to know to get started with a successful business. Topics include: developing a marketing plan, getting a business checking account, keeping books, using the internet and much more.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip