Instruction Tools
Library Services
Online Encyclopedias
Copyright
- BYU Copyright Office
- Copyright and MultimediaLearn all about copyright and multimedia issues.
- Copyright Dates SliderUse this tool to help you decide whether or not an item is still in copyright.
- Copyright from ALALearn more about copyright and how to abide by the laws.
- Copyright TutorialAll faculty and staff are invited to take this copyright tutorial.
Learn how to access our library databases
Faculty Development Books
Find these books behind the 3rd floor circulation desk.
- 147 Practical Tips for Synchronous and Blending Technology Teaching and Learning - Lehman, Rosemary M.Call Number: LC 5800.L47 2007ISBN: 1891859692Distance education today offers more than teaching and learning online. The growing sophistication and flexibility of synchronous technologies, plus continuing advances and familiarity with their uses, has opened up new opportunities for engaging students and relating with them in a myriad of ways. Honed through years of experience and grounded in distance education research, the tips selected for this book are placed in the respected framework of the instructional design process: pre-planning, planning, developing, implementing, evaluating. You will find here a quick tip that can inspire you as you plan a new course. You will also find ideas that can inform and expand your usage of the exciting options available. Of special interest is the Companion Web site designed to offer depth, additional materials, and a practitioner blog. With the web site, the book, and the blog, the reader has the opportunity to work with print and electronic media to create an innovative plan.
- 147 Practical Tips for Teaching Sustainability - Timpson, William M.Call Number: GE 70.A13 2006ISBN: 1891859609We are the first generation capable of determining the habitability of the planet for humans and other species, writes Anthony Cortese in the Foreword. Teachers at every level can play an important role in helping us find a sustainable path. One educator is fond of saying that, The stone age didn t end because of a lack of rocks While there was certainly an abundance of rocks available, stone age peple moved on to a new era because it became possible for them to envision and create a different and more useful way of organizing life. Many believe that we are currently at a similar juncture and can begin to imagine and construct new ways to live on our planet. All who work with sustainability issues realize that it is a community project. We must decide collectively about the earth and its future. As a community be it a geographic, social, academic, or professional community we need to know where to begin, how to collaboratively work, and where to find resources. Most of us belong to communities that are concerned about sustainability issues, but do not have that as their primary mandate, such as a business, a history class, or a civic group. These groups have a tremendous opportunity to incorporate sustainability awareness into their activities. And this volume will help find those opportunities and make the best use of group resources.
- 147 Practical Tips for Using Icebreakers with College Students - Magnan, RobertCall Number: LB 2331.M346 2005ISBN: 1891859579Building a sense of community in the classroom is key to fostering a safe and supportive environment for learning. Icebreakers are designed specifically for this purpose – to create that sense of a community of learners, working together.If you are considering using icebreakers for the first time, these tips offer convincing reasons for using them and suggest specific icebreakers for specific situations.
- Beyond Subject Matter Expertise: Strategies for Instructing Adults - Johnson, Glenn RossCall Number: LC 5225.T4 J65 2009ISBN: 1891859781You may have discovered that it's not enough to know a lot about your subject. To help adults learn, you must go beyond subject matter expertise. This book offers you a lot of strategies in just a little time. It's structured around basic questions for you to consider as you begin preparing to train or teach. plus, it's very practical and easy to read and use. If you're a subject matter expert who wants to teach or train more effectively, this book will help you begin.
- Core Indicators of Effectiveness for Community Colleges - Alfred, RichardCall Number: LB 3828.C6912 2007Discusses various assessment models and core indicators important for community colleges.
- Effective Grading: A Tool for Learning and Assessment - Walvoord, Barbara E.Call Number: LB 2368.W35 1998ISBN: 0787940305Effective Grading is written for the faculty member who believes the grading process is a valuable measure of student learning. This hands-on guide for evaluating student work offers an in-depth examination of the linkage between teaching and grading. It uses grades not as isolated artifacts, but as part of a process that, when integrated with course objectives, provides rich information about student learning. The authors reveal how the grading process can also be used for broader assessment objectives, such as curriculum and institutional assessment. As practical as it is informative, Effective Grading contains a wealth of special materials, including AAHE's Principles of Good Practice for Assessing Student Learning, types of assignments and tests, and a plan for a faculty workshop on grading and assessment. In addition, the book provides background to the principles of the grading process as well as a wealth of illustrative examples, offering faculty both a sound basis in assessment theory and the practical tools they need to put it to work.
- Generational Learning Styles - Coates, JulieCall Number: LB 1060.C585 2007ISBN: 1577220323Finally you can discover how generations learn differently. For the first time in history, there are now four generations of adults living, working and learning within the same society. It sets a tone for the explosion of change that society faces in the 21st century. For the first time, there are four generations of adults raising families, going to work, going to school. The day of the multi-age classroom is here. The issues of how to manage diverse generations in the workplace are upon us. Generational Learning Styles is a pioneering work intended to provide you with guidelines for meeting the challenges of multiple generations in school, work and society. For trainers, teachers at all levels, faculty, human resource professionals and anyone interested in generations and in learning styles. After reading Generational Learning Styles, you will be more creative and successful in your own teaching and work.
- How Am I Teaching?: Forms & Activities for Acquiring Instructional Input - Weimer, MaryellenCall Number: LB 2838.W45 2002ISBN: 1891859218If you're like most instructors, this is a question that you've asked yourself many times. That's why Weimer, Parrett, and Kerns have compiled this guide-so it's easier to get the answers that you need to this crucial question.How Am I Teaching? contains nine forms and activities that allow you to gather information about what you're doing and how well you're doing it. The authors begin with a simple diagnostic matrix to guide you to the form or activity which best suits your needs. Then they summarize each of the nine tools, highlighting the value and limitations. Make copies of whichever tool(s) you've selected and you're on your way to better teaching!
- Learning Style Perspectives Impact in the Classroom - Sarasin, Lynne CelliCall Number: LB 1060.S27 1999ISBN: 189185951XEducators have long known that students learn in different ways. The concept of learning styles provides a framework for understanding individual differences and also helps instructors begin to formulate instructional methods to enhance learning for all students. Learning Style Perspectives uses the constructs of auditory, visual, and tactile learner preferences as a way of understanding differences in perception and processing information. Lynne Celli Sarasin provides an overview of the major theorists Gregorc and Butler, Sims and Sims, McCarthy, Harb, Durrant, and Terry and synthesizes those theories into an approach to teaching which is readily applied to postsecondary classrooms.
- Rewired - Rosen, Larry D.Call Number: LB 1028.5.R575 2010ISBN: 0230614787Look around at today’s youth and you can see how technology has changed their lives. They lie on their beds and study while listening to mp3 players, texting and chatting online with friends, and reading and posting Facebook messages. How does the new, charged-up, multitasking generation respond to traditional textbooks and lectures? Are we effectively reaching today’s technologically advanced youth? Rewired is the first book to help educators and parents teach to this new generation’s radically different learning styles and needs. This book will also help parents learn what to expect from their “techie” children concerning school, homework, and even socialization. In short, it is a book that exposes the impact of generational differences on learning while providing strategies for engaging students at school and at home.
- Successful Beginnings for College Teaching - McGlynn, Angela ProviteraCall Number: LB 2331.P768 2001ISBN: 1891859382Laying the groundwork for a successful semester starts with the first day of class. Author Angela Provitera McGlynn tells that the first day is not the day to pass out a syllabus and let everyone go. Rather, it's the day to set the context for the rest of the semester.The author stresses the need for developing an atmosphere of respect for diversity while simultaneously providing a safe and exciting place to explore differences.
- Teaching and Performing Ideas for Engaging Your Classses - Timpson, WilliamCall Number: LB 2331.T52 2002To be or not to be. That is the question. To be a teacher-performer or not to be. Authors Timpson and Burgoyne assert that teachers are inherently performers and as such, techniques from the stage enhance and expand a teacher's ready repertoire of discipline-based content. While teachers are trained as planners and scholars, very few are trained as performers. Using performance theory, the authors show how an educator can transform ordinary classroom experiences into occasions that attract and engage the students. In this second edition of Teaching and Performing, the authors expand on the possibilities of using warm-up exercises, assuming roles, props, lighting, blocking, energy, concentration, and a variety of other techniques important to good theatre and good teaching.
- The Dynamic Classroom: Engaging Students in Higher Education - Black, CatherineCall Number: LB 2322.2.D96 2010ISBN: 189185982XWith each new era, educators must examine the cultural and technological changes that define the times in order to reflect or incorporate them into teaching practice. As a result of that examination, teachers find ways to use the best, ignore the worst, and strive to create a meaningful and dynamic learning environment. The Dynamic Classroom: Engaging Students in Higher Education submits that there is no single method for the current era or any other era, and accordingly approaches this crucial question from multiple angles in a collection of fourteen best-practices papers. These papers address student engagement thoughtfully and practically, offering in-depth insight into solutions for each pivotal issue. This book includes sections on how to: Prepare the ground for engaging students Engage students in a variety of settings Engage students with new technologies Assess students engagement The Dynamic Classroom provides detailed examinations of a range of engagement strategies from asking the right questions to using the Inquiry Circle to using new technologies. Selecting from these strategies streamlines the process for educators and offers the teacher some contemporary and exciting ways to inspire and engage students.
LDSBC Reference Librarian |
Helpful Web Links for Faculty
Journals of Interest
Here are some links to some journals you may find interesting.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationRead the Chronicle of Higher Education
- Community College Review
- Community College Week
- Professional Development ArticlesDatabase with a collection of articles about professional development topics for college faculty.














Loading...
Loading content... please wait
