This is the "Home" page of the "Interior Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Interior Design  

Interior Design resources
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/interiordesign Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Interior Design Ebooks and Encyclopedias

Specialized Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American architecture NA 705 .P3 1995

Encyclopedia of interior design NK 1165 .E48 1997 vol. 1-2

Interior Design Websites

  • Accessibility Guidelines
    Website for the guidelines for accessibility.
  • American Society of Interior Designers official website
    This site features a job bank, product finder, and referral services as well as information on society membership. There is also information here for those who are looking to find a designer.
  • Careers in Interior Design
    This website is offered by the several US and Canadian associations of design and offers the reader several questions to consider to determine if a career in interior design is right for them. Much useful information is presented and organized.
  • HGTV Decorating Shows
    Watch the HGTV Decorating Shows Online.
  • InteriorDesign.net
    This is the companion website to Interior Design magazine. Some of the tools available on this site include: a buyer’s guide where you can search by company or keyword, a newswire with current articles on different interior design oriented topics etc.
  • Interiordezine
    This website is an online database offering all kinds of articles on various topics in the Interior Design field. Topics include: remodeling, makeovers, furniture, kitchen, lighting and much more.
  • National Kitchen and Bath Association
    Website for the national kitchen and bath association.

Interior Design Databases

All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.

  • Access the Godey's Lady Book from the 19th century
    This fashion oriented magazine from the 19th century is a part of the accessible archives collection.
  • American Institute of Graphic Arts archive of design
    containing images for brand and identity systems, editorial design, book design, illustration, motion graphics, package design, typographic design, promotional design and advertising, corporate and communications design, environmental graphic design, etc.
  • Art Full Text
    Access a variety of articles all about various art and design topics.
  • Camio Art Images Online
    A large collection of art images from various art museums around the world.
  • Green Info
    A new free database from Ebsco covering all things green, and environmentally friendly. Many useful resources for interior design as well.
  • JSTOR
    Database for the sciences and humanities. Articles on literature, art, and more. Many scholarly resources for interior design.
 

Interior Design Books from the Shelves

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Residential Construction - Allen, Edward and Thallon, Rob
Call Number: TH 4811.A463 2006
ISBN: 0471681792
Learn all about residential construction systems with this up to date guide. This book covers all the latest developments in materials and methods of house construction. Full of photos and drawings this book will give you all the help you need to build a house.

Cover Art
Sustainable Commercial Interiors - Bonda, Penny
Call Number: TH 4860.F67 2007
ISBN: 0471749176
A step-by-step guide to designing environmentally friendly commercial interiors. Millions of people in the U.S. workforce rely on interior designers to create environments that make them happy and productive, as well as promote their safety and well-being. Sustainable Commercial Interiors provides an engaging introduction to and exploration of the vast field of sustainable design as it specifically relates to commercial interior spaces.

Cover Art
Green Interior Design - Dennis, Lori
Call Number: NK 2113.D48 2010
ISBN: 1581157452
Award-winning designer and author Lori Dennis proves interior design can be both stylish and environmentally sustainable in this easy-to-use, entertaining guide. Dennis discusses every aspect of interior design—furniture and accessories, window treatments, fabrics, surface materials, appliances, plants, and more—from a green perspective in terms of reducing waste and pollution and turning a home into a healthy, comfortable environment. Readers will learn how to:

- use sustainable materials like bamboo, cork, and recycled glass to enhance interiors
- search thrift shops and antique stores for vintage hidden treasures
- find the best vendors for purchasing green products
- use plants and locally cut flowers to improve indoor air quality and brighten up rooms
- replace lawns with indigenous plants and edible gardens
- keep rooms clean with effective and nontoxic products
- use energy efficient lighting and maximize natural light
- apply for different types of green certification

Packed with over 100 color photographs, lists of the best green vendors, and profiles of leading green designers, this book is a thorough guide for anyone who wants to create beautiful interiors while lessening the waste and pollution generated by the building industry.

Cover Art
Living Homes: Integrated Design and Construction - Elpel, Thomas J.
Call Number: TH 4815.E47 2005
ISBN: 1892784181
Learn how to plan, construct and design your dream home without breaking the bank. From the roof to the floors to the fireplaces this book covers it all with step by step instructions, diagrams and terminology defined.

Cover Art
Interior Lighting for Designers - Gordon, Gary ID
Call Number: TK 4175.G67 2003
ISBN: 047144118X
Learn all about the steps of the lighting design process that professionals follow in practice. This book also includes examinations of the latest advances in lighting technology and practice as well as the newest light sources, fixtures and systems and more than 250 illustrations and photos.

Cover Art
I Wish I Worked There - Groves, Krusty
Call Number: NA 6230.G76 2010
ISBN: 0470713836
Revealing some of the world's most inspiring workplaces, I Wish I Worked There! investigates the way 20 famous brands have put innovation at the heart of their culture. Photographs and illustrations detail the way in which companies accommodate creative activity through spaces that: stimulate, enable reflection, promote collaboration and encourage play. Easy-to-adopt principles assist the design, creation or selection of spaces that support creative endeavor. Never before has a title looked specifically at how the working environment fosters the flow of ideas from both practical and emotional perspectives – with business results.

Cover Art
Starting Your Career as an Interior Designer - Hale, Robert K. and Williams, Thomas L.
Call Number: NK 2116.H34 2009
ISBN: 1581156596
Starting Your Career as an Interior Designer contains all the necessary tools and strategies to successfully launch and grow a professional design business in the competitive world of interior design. Drawing on the authors' extensive experience, this book includes case studies, and personal anecdotes that help teach you how to:- choose a design field - obtain and keep clients - garner referrals - market and position your business - bid competitively on projects - manage sales - organize a budget - manage start-up costs and cash flow - promote your business - branch out into product and architectural design - design within a retail environment - set pricing guidelines - sell to your target demographic - set up your officeReaders will find a history of the business side of interior design as well as various career tracks available to today’s budding entrepreneur. Any early career interior designer or student looking for practical advice on the ins and outs of running a design firm will need this one-stop guide.

Cover Art
Residential Interior Design: A Guide to Planning Spaces - Mitton, Maureen and Nystuen, Courtney
Call Number: NA 2850.M56 2007
ISBN: 0471684732
Learn the fundamental skills needed to plan interior spaces for all types of homes regardless of style from remodeling to new construction. This book is also full of designs and diagrams so you can follow right along and visually see what they are talking about.

Cover Art
How to Start a Home Based Interior Design Business - Phillips, Nita
Call Number: HD 2333.P45 2009x
ISBN: 0762750154
Learn how to develop a business plan, estimate your start-up costs, price your services, and stay profitable once you’re in business. Read all about getting clients and referrals, outshining the competition, bidding competitively, establishing your daily schedule, organizing your business, getting paid, and much more.

Cover Art
A History of Interior Design - Pile, John
Call Number: NK 1710.P55 2000
ISBN: 0471464341
This encyclopedia like volume covers the history of interior design from pre-history and early civilizations to late Twentieth-Century Design. Some of the other topics include: The Renaissance in Italy, The Regency, Revivals and Industrial Revolution, The Victorian Era and the Emergence of Modernism.

Cover Art
Becoming an Interior Designer - Piotrowski, Christine M.
Call Number: NK 2116.P56 2009
ISBN: 0470114231
If you're embarking upon a career in interior design, here's a highly visual overview of the profession, with in-depth material on educational requirements, design specialties, finding a job, and the many directions a career in interior design can take. Featuring informative interviews with working designers, this Second Edition includes updated educational requirements and a list of accredited interior design programs in the United States and Canada.

Cover Art
Marketing Interior Design - Princeton, Lloyd
Call Number: NK 2116.2.P75 2009
ISBN: 1581156626
Why struggle to market interior design when you can get specialized advice from a top-notch consultant? In Marketing Interior Design, Lloyd Princeton offers you the same high-quality insights that he gives to his clientele. Drawing on his professional expertise as well as the experiences of his clients, he provides detailed guidance to help you learn to:• figure out what to charge and have the confidence to demand that price • write your business statement • brand your business, including designing promotional materials • find leads and take advantage of them through networking • land jobs and learn how to handle the interview process • protect yourself with contracts • take advantage of the burgeoning market for green products and servicesThis insider guide is packed with examples of good (and bad) marketing materials, first-hand stories, and sample contract forms. If you are starting out in the field of interior design, or just want to retool your existing business, you need Marketing Interior Design!

 

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email
 

Interior Design Magazines

 

Architect
Architectural Digest
Architectural Lighting
Architectural Record
Azure Magazine
Dwell
Elle Décor
Fine Home Building
Green Source
House Beautiful
Interior Design
Luxe Interiors and Design
Magazine Antiques
Metropolis
Renovation Style
The Futurist
This Old House
Traditional Home
Veranda
Vogue Living
 

Please share your feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip