Life Sciences Databases
All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.
- Alt Health WatchChoose from main menu options. This database has all kinds of information on alternative and current health, dieting and life science related issues.
- BioOneSearch through all kinds of science related journals and publications.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library-General SciencesGeneral Sciences collection for Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Green Info OnlineSearch this free Ebsco resource for information on things green and environmentally friendly.
- Grzimeks Animals Online“Information on evolution, habitat, behavior, and range for more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Birds, Fish, Insects, Invertebrates, Mammals and Reptiles.”
- International Plant Names IndexLearn all about all kinds of plants, their names, where you can find them, and what they look like.
Comments (0)
Life Sciences Ebooks
- Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Biology by Helicon PublishingLearn all the definitions of biology you need to know and probably much more with this biology dictionary. The terms are listed alphabetically and include places, and people as well as other terminology necessary to the understanding of biology.
- Life Sciences for the Non-Scientists by Vigan ZamanLearn all about the life sciences including biology and chemistry in an easy to understand and non-technical format. Included are diagrams with explanations and other books for further reading.
- Schaum’s Easy Outline Biology by George H. FriedLearn the basics of biology in clear and easy to understand format with examples and exercises.
- Trailside Botany : 101 Favorite Trees, Shrubs, and Wildflowers of the Upper Midwest by John BatesLearn all about each tree, shrub and wildflower in the book with pictures, and simple to understand explanations. After each explanation there is also an activity you can do which involves that particular tree, shrub or wildflower.
Books from our shelves on Life Sciences
Call Number: H1.066env2006
ISBN: 0737733144
Examines the different issues and perspectives regarding saving our natural environment. Some of the ideas include: global warming, renewable energy, and natural resources.
Call Number: QK 99.U6 E46 2004
ISBN: 1892784076
Learn the patterns of plant identification with this easy to use guide. Pictures and detailed descriptions of the various plants are included.
Call Number: RC 46.F79 2004
ISBN: 141604714X
One of our newer books, this book offers an essential overview of pathology and human diseases. Learn why certain conditions develop, how they are identified and how they are treated. Includes full color illustrations and clear directions.
Call Number: H1.O66eat2001
ISBN: 0737733497
Part of the opposing viewpoints series, this book talks about eating disorders from a variety of different viewpoints and offers hints and ideas on how to treat eating disorders.
Call Number: H1.A8for2005
ISBN: 0737727322
Part of the opposing viewpoints series this book offers opinions on how to manage forests and save the environment.
Health - Ojeda, Auriana
Call Number: H1.O66he2004
Part of the opposing viewpoints series, this book examines both sides of various health and nutrition related issues such as obesity, vitamin supplements and homeopathic remedies.
Call Number: QK 475.R63 2008
ISBN: 0520256506
Life Sciences Websites
- Journal of the American College of NutritionThis journal contains: Original and innovative research in nutrition with useful application for researchers, physicians, and other health care professionals; Critical reviews on pertinent nutrition topics that highlight key teaching points and relevance.
- The Plant Cell OnlineThe Plant Cell publishes novel research of special significance in plant biology, especially in the areas of cellular biology, molecular biology, genetics, development, and evolution.
- Livescience.comLearn all about the life sciences through current news, quizzes and informative articles. Some of the sections include: space, animals, health, environment, technology and history.
LDSBC Reference Librarian |




Loading...
