This is the "Home" page of the "Literature Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature Resources  

Find resources for your literature classes.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Literature Databases

All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.

 

Literature Resource Center

 

Literature Encyclopedias from the shelf

Cover Art
Flannery O'Connor and Cold War Culture - Bacon, Jon Lance
Call Number: PS 3565.C57 Z57 2005
ISBN: 0521619807
This book reconsiders Flannery O'Connor, known primarily for her Catholicism. By recovering the historical circumstances in which Flannery O'Connor wrote her fiction, Jon Lance Bacon reveals an artist concerned with the cultural effects of the conflict that dominated American political discourse after 1945: the Cold War. O'Connor resisted the consensus that demanded uncritical celebration of American life - including consumerism. Bacon relates her fiction to political texts, sociological studies, advertisements, movies, television programs, paintings, editorial cartoons and comic books. This interdisciplinary approach transforms O'Connor from a regional writer, with a religious message that transcends social and political questions, into a national figure, with a secure place in literary histories that address such questions.

Cover Art
Hamlet: Poem Unlimited - Bloom, Harold
Call Number: PR 2807.B617 2003
ISBN: 157322233X
In his New York Times bestseller Shakespeare: The Invention of the Human, Harold Bloom showed us how Shakespeare shaped human consciousness and addressed the question of authorship in Hamlet. In Hamlet: Poem Unlimited, our most celebrated critic turns his attention to a reading of the play itself and to Shakespeare's most enigmatic and memorable character.

Hamlet: Poem Unlimited is Bloom's attempt to uncover the mystery of both Prince Hamlet and the play itself, how both prince and drama are able to break through the conventions of theatrical mimesis and the representation of character, making us question the very nature of theatrical illusion. In twenty-five brief chapters, Bloom takes us through the major soliloquies, scenes, characters, and action of the play, to explore the enigma at the heart of the drama, that is central to its universal appeal.

Every reader of Shakespeare will delight in this step-by-step analysis by our most beloved critic.

Cover Art
William Shakespeare’s Hamlet Critical Interpretations - Bloom, Harold
Call Number: PR 2807.W456 2009
ISBN: 1604136324
In Shakespeare's powerful drama of destiny and revenge, Hamlet, the troubled prince of Denmark, must overcome his own self-doubt and avenge the murder of his father. This invaluable new study guide to one of Shakespeare's greatest plays contains a selection of the finest contemporary criticism of Hamlet.

Cover Art
Critical Insights: Emily Dickinson - Bouson, J. Brooks
Call Number: PS 1541.Z5 E385 2011
ISBN: 1587656957
A collection of critical essays and insights on the various poems of Emily Dickinson

Cover Art
Critical Insights Robert Frost - Dickstein, Morris
Call Number: PS 3511.R94 Z543 2010
ISBN: 1587656361
Critical articles and insights on Robert Frost

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to English Literature - Drabble, Margaret
Call Number: PR 19.D73 1985
ISBN: 0198614535

Cover Art
The Cambridge Introduction to Robert Frost - Faggen, Robert
Call Number: PS 3511. R94 Z5595 2008
ISBN: 0521670063
Robert Frost is one of the most popular American poets and remains widely read. His work is deceptively simple, but reveals its complexities upon close reading. This Introduction provides a comprehensive but intensive look at his remarkable oeuvre. The poetry is discussed in detail in relation to ancient and modern traditions as well as to Frost's particular interests in language and sound, metaphor, science, religion, and politics. Faggen both looks back to the literary traditions that shape Frost's use of form and language, and forward to examine his influence on poets writing today. The recent controversies in Frost criticism and in particular in Frost biography are brought into sharp focus as they have shaped the poet's legacy and legend. The most accessible overview available, this book will be invaluable to students, readers and admirers of Frost.

Cover Art
Blake's Poetry and Designs - Johnson, Mary Lynn and Grant John E.
Call Number: PR 4141.5.J64 2008
ISBN: 039392498X
In addition to a broad selection of the poems, the volume includes over 100 images (16 in color), emphasizing the centrality of pictorial representations to Blake’s verse. Biographical context is provided through dozens of excerpts from Blake’s notebook, letters, marginalia, and other writings. “Criticism” offers twenty wide-ranging commentaries by writers from Blake’s contemporaries to present-day critics, among them Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Northrop Frye, Allen Ginsberg, Morris Eaves, Harold Bloom, Alicia Ostriker, John Mee, Saree Makdisi, and Julia Wright. A section on Textual Technicalities, a Chronology of Blake’s life and work, a Selected Bibliography, and an Index of Titles and First Lines are also included.

Literary Daughters - Lane, Maggie
Call Number: PR 111.L25 1989b

Cover Art
Critical Insights: Flannery O'Connor - May, Charles E.
Call Number: PS 3565.C57 Z667845 2012
ISBN: 1587658313
A collection of critical essays on the works of Flannery O'Connor.

Cover Art
Hamlet: A Norton Critical Edition - Miola, Robert S.
Call Number: PR 2807.A2 M46 2011
ISBN: 0393956636
This revised Norton Critical Edition of one of the series' most widely read texts is based on the second quarto (1604-05). Where necessary, the editor has also drawn from the folio text, recording all departures from the quarto in the Textual Notes. Punctuation and stage directions for the play have been refined, and textual annotations have been revised and expanded.
The "Intellectual Backgrounds" and "Extracts from the Sources" sections, both highly praised, remain as germane as ever. Intellectual Backgrounds includes important readings on melancholy, demonology, the nature of man, and death, including works by Peter de la Primaudaye, Timothy Bright, Lewes Lavater, G. Gifford, Michel de Montaigne, and Heironymous Cardanus. Extracts from the Sources provides pre-Shakespearean accounts of the story of Hamlet, reprinting substantial excerpts from Saxo Grammaticus's Historia Danica and Belleforest's Histoires Tragiques.
"Criticism" has been revised to accommodate the most significant recent interpretations of Hamlet while retaining the seminal essays of the First Edition. Twenty-three critical analyses are featured, including those by Samuel Johnson, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, William Hazlitt, A. C. Bradley, D. H. Lawrence, T. S. Eliot, G. Wilson Knight, C. S. Lewis, Harry Levin, Peter J. Seng, Rebecca West, Arnold Kettle, Margaret W. Ferguson, Jacqueline Rose, and William Empson.
An updated Selected Bibliography is also included.

A History of English Literature - Moody, William
Call Number: PR 85.M615 1964

Cover Art
Case Studies in Contemporary Criticism: Jane Eyre - Newman, Beth
Call Number: PR 4167.J3 21996
ISBN: 0312095457
Adopted at more than 1,000 colleges and universities, Bedford/St. Martin's innovative Case Studies in Contemporary Criticism series has introduced more than a quarter of a million students to literary theory and earned enthusiastic praise nationwide. Along with an authoritative text of a major literary work, each volume presents critical essays, selected or prepared especially for students, that approach the work from several contemporary critical perspectives, such as gender criticism and cultural studies. Each essay is accompanied by an introduction (with bibliography) to the history, principles, and practice of its critical perspective. Every volume also surveys the biographical, historical, and critical contexts of the literary work and concludes with a glossary of critical terms. New editions reprint cultural documents that contextualize the literary works and feature essays that show how critical perspectives can be combined.

 

Literature Websites

  • Literature.org
    An online library of literature.
  • The Literature Network
    Read online texts, comment and share thoughts in forums about many works of literature.
  • Sunsite Literature Collection
    An entire collection of digital texts which can be read online.
  • The Literature Page
    The Literature Page is your place to read classic books, plays, stories, poems, essays, and speeches online, brought to you by the creators of The Quotations Page. Our collection currently includes 243 works from 89 authors. We add new titles regularly.

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email
 

Please share your feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Poetry

Watch videos of various poets reading their works or other people reading the works of the poets.

 

Search Literature Resources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip