Medical and Health Ebooks
- Ebrary's Medical Law CollectionEbooks on various aspects of Medical Law by Ebrary.
- Health Care Ebooks
- Medical Ethics Ebooks
- Medical Ethics for Dummies
- Medical Terminology Demystified
Medical Databases
All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.
- Consumer Health SourceFind articles all about various health and medical issues.
- MedlineMEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine; the original version is called PUBMED (Public version of MEDLINE). References are added from over 4700 medical journals and publications and it includes the years 1966 to present.
- Medline PlusGovernment database of health and medical information. Trusted health information for you.
- National Guideline ClearinghouseThe NGC is an Internet-based comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related materials that have been submitted by 167 health care organizations, associations, medical societies and Federal agencies.
- Psychotherapy and Counseling Reference WorksResources and reference works all about counseling and psychotheraphy.
- Webster’s New World Medical Dictionary
Medical Specialized Encyclopedias in Print
Encyclopedia & dictionary of medicine, nursing, and allied health R 121 .M65 1992
Encyclopedia of human nutrition QP 141 .E526 1998 vol. 1-3
Encyclopedia of nutrition & good health RA 784 .R646 1997
Encyclopedia of vitamins, minerals, and supplements QP 771 .E53 1996
Macmillan health encyclopedia RA 776 .M174 1993 vol. 1-9 1993
The encyclopedia of allergies RC 585 .N38 2001
The encyclopedia of Alzheimer's disease RC 52.3 .T87 2003
The encyclopedia of autoimmune diseases RC 600 .C37 2003
The encyclopedia of depression RC 537 .R63 2001
The encyclopedia of infectious diseases RC 112 .T87 2003
The encyclopedia of work-related illnesses, injuries, and health issues RC 963 .A3 K348 2004
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets REF RA 784.G345 2008 v.2
The Gale encyclopedia of medicine RC 41 .G35 2001 vol. 1-5 2002
Medical Books from our catalog
- Career Development for Health Professionals - Haroun, LeeCall Number: HF 5381.C2653x2006ISBN: 0721606091Another one of our newer books, this book is chuck full of practical advice and step by step actions you can take now while you are in school to prepare you for a medical career. Not only is there advice about interviewing and applying for positions but also about developing the skills needed to have a successful medical career.
- Fundamentals of Complementary and Integrative Medicine - Micozzi, Marc SCall Number: R733.F86x2006ISBN: 1416025839This book is formatted like a textbook and is also one of our newer titles. Many aspects of the field of medicine are included such as: Homeopathy, Herbal Medicine, Social and Cultural factors that influence medicine, arts therapy, humor and Chinese medicine. At the end of each chapter are also references and suggested readings for learning more.
- Nursing 2012 Drug HandbookCall Number: RM 301.12.N87 2012ISBN: 1609136195The 32nd edition of the best-selling, original drug handbook for nurses has been revised, updated, and completely redesigned—with generic drugs alphabetically arranged for even faster access to drug and patient care information! This reliable guide offers comprehensive information on more than 1,000 generic and 3,000 brand-name drugs, with special attention given to maintaining patient safety: readers will find tall-man lettering, prominent black box warnings and clinical alerts, overdose signs and symptoms, look alike-sound alike drugs, easy-to-spot drug action and I.V. administration information, a new chapter on safe drug administration, and three brand-new appendices covering best practices for avoiding common drug errors, pediatric drugs commonly involved in drug errors, and elder care medication tips. All drug entry names are highlighted for easy retrieval of information, with therapeutic and pharmacologic classes clearly identified.
- Medical Assisting Exam Review for CMA, RMA and CMAS Certification - Houser, Helen J.Call Number: R 728.8.H68 2012ISBN: 1609133684Among all of the review products available, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Medical Assisting Exam Review for CMA, RMA & CMAS Certification is one of the most popular because of its focus on student engagement, thorough coverage, and accessible style. Now in its Third Edition, this review guide prepares medical assisting students for successfully passing a national medical assisting certification exam (CMA, RMA, and CMAS exams). This text is comprehensive, focuses on engagement, and is written in a concise style that infuses humor and motivational strategies. The book first helps the user identify areas of strength and weakness, then guides the user through developing a study plan. Following this, practice exams included in the ancillary suite will help students assess their progress and continue working toward success on the exam.
- Medical Liability in a Nutshell - Boumil, Marcia M.Call Number: KF 2905.3.Z9 B68 2011ISBN: 0314232931Reliable source on medical liability law. Written by experts in the field, this Nutshell offers insight on establishing professional relationships and examines negligence-based claims, intentional torts, causation, damages, affirmative defenses, limitations, immunities, and liabilities. It also provides an overview of medical care liability issues affecting hospitals and managed care organizations.
- Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy - McCann, Judith A. SchillingCall Number: R123.M394 2005ISBN: 0781788455This book tackles the often challenging subject of medical terminology and makes it easy by including not only simple explanations but also funny pictures, puzzles and games. The book is also organized according to body structure and the different systems of the body to make learning easier.
- Safe Patients, Smart Hospitals - Pronovost, PeterISBN: 159463064XFirst, do no harm-doctors, nurses and clinicians swear by this code of conduct. Yet in hospitals and doctors' offices across the country, errors are made every single day - avoidable, simple mistakes that often cost lives. Inspired by two medical mistakes that not only ended in unnecessary deaths but hit close to home, Dr. Peter Pronovost made it his personal mission to improve patient safety and make preventable deaths a thing of the past, one hospital at a time.
Dr. Pronovost began with simple improvements to a common procedure in the ER and ICU units at Johns Hopkins Hospital. Creating an easy five-step checklist based on the most up-to-date research for his fellow doctors and nurses to follow, he hoped that streamlining the procedure itself could slow the rate of infections patients often died from.
But what Dr. Pronovost discovered was that doctors and nurses needed more than a checklist: the day-to-day environment needed to be more patient-driven and staff needed to see scientific results in order to know their efforts were a success. After those changes took effect, the units Dr. Pronovost worked with decreased their rate of infection by 70%. - Survival Guide for Anatomy and Physiology - Patton, Kevin T.Call Number: QP35.P38x2006ISBN: 0323043305This is one of our newer books in the medical collection and contains practical advice on how to master anatomy and physiology and live to tell about the experience. Along with a quick reference organized according to structure and type there is also helpful tools and hints on how to prepare for an exam. This book is also full of clever and entertaining as well as useful color photos.
- Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary - Venes, DonaldCall Number: REF R121.T18 2008ISBN: 0803613083This essential medical dictionary for any medical professional covers all standard medical terminology in dictionary format. It also includes diagrams and pictures of the parts of the body and many medical conditions which may not be obvious at first glance. The appendixes include information on Latin and Greek names, poisons, health professions, Home Health Care classification system, and nursing diagnoses grouped by diseases and disorders.
- The Healing of America - Reid, TRCall Number: RA 395.A3 R435 2009ISBN: 1594202346From Publishers Weekly
Washington Post correspondent Reid (The United States of Europe) explores health-care systems around the world in an effort to understand why the U.S. remains the only first world nation to refuse its citizens universal health care. Neither financial prudence nor concern for the commonweal explains the American position, according to Reid, whose findings divulge that the U.S. not only spends more money on health care than any other nation but also leaves 45 million residents uninsured, allowing about 22,000 to die from easily treatable diseases. Seeking treatment for the flareup of an old shoulder injury, he visits doctors in the U.S., France, Germany, Japan and England—with a stint in an Ayurvedic clinic in India—in a quest for treatment that dovetails with his search for a cure for America's health-care crisis, a narrative device that sometimes feels contrived, but allows him valuable firsthand experience. For all the scope of his research and his ability to mint neat rebuttals to the common American misconception that universal health care is socialized medicine, Reid neglects to address the elephant in the room: just how are we to sell these changes to the mighty providers and insurers? - The Innovator's Prescription - Christensen, Clayton M.Call Number: RA 971.C56 2009ISBN: 0071592083A groundbreaking prescription for health care reform--from a legendary leader in innovation . . .
Our health care system is in critical condition. Each year, fewer Americans can afford it, fewer businesses can provide it, and fewer government programs can promise it for future generations.
We need a cure, and we need it now.
Harvard Business School’s Clayton M. Christensen—whose bestselling The Innovator’s Dilemma revolutionized the business world—presents The Innovator’s Prescription, a comprehensive analysis of the strategies that will improve health care and make it affordable. - Why Our Health Matters - Weil, AndrewCall Number: RA 395.A3 W443 2009ISBN: 1594630666Healthcare is no longer just a public issue; for millions of Americans it is now a crisis on their own doorstep. Cost of medical care today are a leading cause of personal bankruptcy. Although policy makers have weighed in on all sides, in this book, bestselling author Andrew Weil, M.D., identifies the root of the problem. He shows us exactly how we have become embroiled in the present situation and provides a solution that will not only make healthcare affordable, but will also put each one of us on the road to optimum health.
Dr. Weil states that we have a right to good healthcare that is effective, accessible, and affordable. Many Americans would be surprised to know that our national health is far from the best in the world, even though we spend more money on it than any other country. The World Health Organization recently rated America thirty-seventh in health outcomes, on par with Serbia. Tackling head-on the Three Major Myths of American Medicine, Dr. Weil shows how medical schools fail to give future doctors the education they need to care for patients, how insurance companies have destroyed our opportunity to get excellent care, and how pharmaceutical companies have come to rule our lives. The solution involves nothing less than the creation of a completely new culture of health and medicine in this country, one that we can each start building today.
Medical and Health Websites
- A to Z Directory of SymptomsYahoo's Health Directory of Symptoms.
- Advances in Preventive Medicine
- American Association of Medical AssistantsYou can find information on membership, employment and mentoring within the profession.
- American Health Information Management Associationit contains information on all kinds of medical professions including employment and schools. Learn all about membership in the association and the benefits it offers as well.
- American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
- Bulletin of the World Health Organization
- Directory of Diseases and ConditionsDiseases and conditions directory in A to Z format.
- Food Insight MagazineOnline edition of the now online only food insight magazine.
- Free Articles on the Swine FluRead some free articles all about the swine flu.
- Health Education and Behavior
Articles all about health education and about how education about health can change and influence behaviors and habits. - HealthfinderYour source for reliable health information from the U.S. government.
- IBIS-PH; Utah's Public Health Data ResourceIndicator-Based Information System for Public Health (IBIS-PH)
"This site provides statistical numerical data as well as contextual information on the health status of Utahns and the state of Utah's health care system." - Journal of Media Law & Ethics
- Journal of Medical Cases
- Journal of the American Board or Family MedicinePublished since 1988, the Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine ( JABFM ) is the official peer-reviewed journal of the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM).
- Medical Law ReviewThe Medical Law Review is established as an authoritative source of reference for academics, lawyers, legal and medical practitioners, law students and anyone interested in health care and the law.
- Medical specific search engineFind information about all kinds of health and medical related topics.
- Medical Terminology LessonsWith self correcting exams on all different aspects of medical terminology.
- MedlineplusThe best place to start for quality filtered consumer health information; written for the lay public, in English or Spanish. MedlinePlus is designed to help the consumer find appropriate, authoritative health information.
- MedpediaMedical and Health Encyclopedia similar to Wikipedia but for Medical and Health only.
- MedWormA large collection of free resources related to medical and health.
- National Guideline ClearinghouseYou are connected to the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- National Network of Libraries of Medicine MidContinental RegionAccess medical resources from the national network of libraries of medicine from the MidContinental Region
- Nutrition and Dietary Supplements
- Nutrition Bytes
- Nutrition Journal
- Philosophy, Ethics, and Humanities in Medicine
- Search Engine for Health Care ResourcesResources for health care.
- Swine Flu articles by Galeaccess some free articles on the swine flu by gale.
- The Internet Journal of Law, Healthcare and Ethics
- The McGill Library Global Health Resource Guide
- The Red Book OnlineRed Book® Online is the online home of the report of the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases. Offering instant Web-based access, you will find the complete text of the Red Book®, the complete visual library of over 2,000 images, vaccine status etc.
- Who PublicationsAccess for free online the publications of the World Health Organization.
LDSBC Reference Librarian |





Loading content... please wait
