Library Books on Music
- The Enjoyment of Music - Forney, Kristine, and Machlis, JosephCall Number: MT90.M232003b (on reserve behind the circulation desk)ISBN: 0393978796This is the textbook for the course and it offers an overview of all of the major time periods in Music History with information about the major composers, and their works as well as biographical information and pictures. Music samples both in the text and on CD accompany this book.
- How Sweet the Sound: Music in the Spiritual Lives of Americans - Stowe, David W.Call Number: ML2911.S76 H68 2004ISBN: 0674012909This book takes an interesting look into the lives of famous Americans including some politicians and former US Presidents by examining how Music played a role in their spiritual lives.
- Oxford Companion to American Musical - Hischak, Thomas S.Call Number: REF ML 102. M88 H57 2008ISBN: 0195335333
- The Music Instinct Science and Song - Mcdonald, AuraCall Number: DVD ML 3820 MUS
Music Databases
All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Searchâ„¢ Premier contains indexing and
abstracts for over 8,450 journals, with full text for more than 4,600
of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for
well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are
provided for more than 1,000 titles. - Classical Scores LibraryClassical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.
- Opera in VideoWatch complete operas or scenes from operas.
- Psychology of MusicArticles all about how music influences us and society.
Print Encyclopedia
Larousse encyclopedia of music REF 780 LAR 1971
Online Encyclopedias
- Hutchinson Concise Dictionary of Music by Helicon PublishingLearn all about Music, Music Theory and terminology with this handy and useful dictionary.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
- The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Music Websites
- Classical.netLearn all about classical music with a basic repertoire list, classical cd buying guide, recommended classical cds, composers works and data, reviews and articles, books and scores and classical music links.
- Classical ArchivesThis is the largest classical music site on the web with over 40,055 full length classical music files by 2,093 composers. All of the files are organized by composer, and there is also a search feature to help you find exactly what you are searching for.
- About Classical MusicLearn all about classical music with articles and reviews organized according to time period and genre. There is also a forum for communicating with others as well as links where you can buy music, tickets to concerts and other items.
LDSBC Reference Librarian |
Science News on Music
- Science News on MusicRead a special issue of Science News that talks all about the science of music.





Loading content... please wait
