This is the "Basic Law Materials" page of the "ParaLegal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ParaLegal Resources  

Access materials to help you with your paralegal studies.
Last Updated: May 16, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/paralegalresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Basic Law Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Books from our Library Shelves

Cover Art
Black’s Law Dictionary - Garner, Brian A.
Call Number: REF KF 156 .B53 2009
ISBN: 0314199500
For more than a century Black's has been the gold standard for the language of law. Today it is the most widely cited law book in the world. Edited by Bryan A. Garner, the world's leading legal lexicographer, the 9th Edition is the most authoritative, comprehensive law dictionary ever published. It contains more than 45,000 terms and includes: 2,000 more terms than the 8th Edition and 19,000 more than the 7th Edition including click fraud, Code Adam, collaborative law, ecoterrorism, environmental tort, friendly subpoena, happy-slapping, honor crime, secret detention, Schumer box, and super precedent. Includes the date when selected terms were first used in English-language contexts, especially in judicial opinions. Heightened accuracy: more than 200 lawyers around the country reviewed terms. Definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. Almost 3,000 quotations drawn from sources over five centuries. Alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms. West Key Numbers.

Cover Art
Career Opportunities in the Law and Legal Industry - McDavid, Susan Echaore
Call Number: KF 297 .E245 2007
ISBN: 0816067171
The legal industry consists of much more than just lawyers and judges. In fact, it encompasses a wide range of fields such as legal services, court systems, law enforcement, corrections, criminal justice, social services, paralegals, and a great deal more. This valuable guide covers jobs that require a license or law degree as well as jobs that require no special training. More than eighty jobs are profiled, including Environmental Lawyer, Legal Receptionist, Bail Bond Agent, Criminologist, Appraiser, Appellate Judge, Juvenile Counselor, and Public-Interest Advocate. Several extensive appendixes provide directories of appropriate educational institutions, industry associations and organizations, periodicals, websites, and other useful information.

Cover Art
Corpus Juris Secundum
Call Number: KF 154.C67 1985 Z1994
ISBN: 1158377754
Another Law Reference Series.

Pacific Digest
Call Number: KF 135.P21.W43 1990
Another series of law reporters.

Cover Art
Pacific Reporter - West Publishing Company
ISBN: 0217884253
One of many volumes of legal reports for the law profession.

Cover Art
West's Utah Code Annotated - Bender, Matthew
Call Number: KFU 30 1953 .A43 2010
ISBN: 0327041684

West's Utah Code Unannotated - Bender, Matthew
Call Number: KFU 30 .A354

 
 

Non-Reference Books on our Library Shelves

Cover Art
Legal System - Hanrahan, Clare
Call Number: H 1 .O66leg 2008
ISBN: 0737737573
Explore various issues within the US Legal System.

Cover Art
Introduction to law for paralegals: A critical thinking approach - Currier, Katherine A.
Call Number: KF 386.C87 2009
ISBN: 0735567190
Now in its fourth edition, the highly successful Introduction to Law for Paralegals continues to offer paralegal students and instructors a well-rounded and accessible introduction to the legal system, the paralegal s role and the skills involved, as well as to substantive law issues. Using a critical thinking approach, this outstanding author team provides a comprehensive overview of the key concepts covered in introduction to law courses.

Experienced authors and educators, Currier and Eimermann skillfully present their materials in a way that facilitates teaching and learning. This text offers a comprehensive, intelligent overview of all the key concepts covered in a typical introduction to law course. A critical thinking approach that introduces students to the study of law and encourages them to interact with the materials through hypotheticals, examples, and well-designed questions.

Cover Art
Paralegal's Handbook - Haworth, Anita
Call Number: KF 320.L4 H39 2008
ISBN: 1427797056
The nuts and bolts guide to the paralegal profession--from ethics to detailed analysis of the tasks encountered in various legal specialties. From the president of the National Federation of Paralegal Associations, this authoritative text gives professionals reliable guidelines on how to perform their everyday tasks.

Cover Art
Paralegal Today: The Legal Team at Work - Miller, Roger
Call Number: KF 320.L4 M556 2010
ISBN: 143905701X
PARALEGAL TODAY: THE LEGAL TEAM AT WORK, fifth edition, makes the paralegal field come alive for the reader. It uses real-world examples, offering practical application of each concept discussed, and further enhances this focus with hands-on activities throughout. The text gives the reader a thorough introduction to not only the legal system in general, but to specific areas of the law and the paralegal's integral role as a member of the legal team. The reader gains a comprehensive understanding of the laws in our society, the importance of ethical and professional responsibility, and the skills needed to thrive in this environment. Technology features, including spotlights on how technology is changing litigation, legal research, and overall office management, convey the importance of developing strong skills in this area.

Cover Art
How to Land Your First Paralegal Job - Wagner, Andrea
Call Number: KF 320.L4 W34 2009
ISBN: 0132069032
A practical, no-nonsense primer filled with "hot tips," checklists, and sample forms, this book offers a treasure chest of valuable advice on how to join the fast-growing paralegal profession. Differing from most other authors in the field, who concentrate on the knowledge and skills needed by a paralegal, Wagner assumes the reader is qualified for a legal assistant position, although she includes a short chapter on paralegal schools. Her focus is on how to find, interview for, and be hired for that position. Thus, she offers detailed reviews on "crafting winning resumes," writing strong cover letters, employing effective job search strategies, and "selling yourself" through the interview process.

Cover Art
The Basics of Paralegal Studies - Goodrich, David Lee
Call Number: KF 320.L4 G66 2004
ISBN: 0131121464
The intent is to provide not only an overview of the legal principles in a variety of areas of the law, but also to give a practical introduction to the kinds of duties and responsibilities that may face a paralegal in the workplace.Sufficiently comprehensive coverage of the sources of law, the courts system, basic legal terminology, legal research, civil law and discovery, criminal law, real estate, decedents' estates, domestic relations, and contracts.Specifically written for people who would like to know more about paralegal assisting or general subject areas of the law, but have little background in the area.

 

General Law Websites

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email

Watch Live Court Cases

Databases for Articles

  • Case Law Research with Google
  • Hein Online
    Image based legal database
  • JSTOR
    Access the law collection from JSTOR by browsing under disciplines and choosing law.
  • Legal Collection from Ebsco
  • Legal Trac
    Legal database with access to over 1.5 million legal reviews, news, and magazines.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    The number one resource for articles on the law and paralegal materials for paralegal students, it also has articles on business and news topics.
  • Lexis Full Version
    Additional resources beyond those in LexisNexis Academic. This database requires a password and enrollment in the paralegal program to access it.
 

Supreme Court Decisions DVDs

Cover Art
Supreme Court Decisions that Changed the Nation: Roe V. Wade - Guidance Associates
Call Number: DVD KF 3771.S8 SUP
DVD lecture containing an overview and questions regarding this important legal case.

Supreme Court Decisions that Changed the Nation: Brown V. Board of Education - Guidance Associates
Call Number: DVD KF 4155.S8 SUP
Lecture containing an overview and questions regarding this important legal case.

Supreme Court Decisions that Changed the Nation: Marbury v. Madison - Guidance Associates
Call Number: DVD KF 8742.S8 SUP
Lecture and questions regarding this important legal case.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip