This is the "Home" page of the "Physical Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Sciences  

Find resources for physical sciences and geology.
Last Updated: Mar 1, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/physicalsciences Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases for Articles

All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.

  • Index to Large Scale USGS and UGS Geologic Maps of Utah
    This index was created to assist in locating detailed geologic maps of Utah that are distributed among the map and monographic series published by the United States Geological Survey (USGS) and the Utah Geological Survey (UGS).
  • National Weather Service
    In addition to providing severe-weather warnings, the National Weather Service provides detailed weather forecasts for cities, counties, and states in the U.S. as well as marine and aviation forecasts.
  • Green Info Online
    Search this free Ebsco resource for information on things green and environmentally friendly.
 

Specialized Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of climate and weather QC 854 .E523 1996 vol. 1-2   

Encyclopedia of computer science QA 76.15 .E48 1993   

Encyclopedia of rain forest  QH 86 .J85 2002   

Environmental Encyclopedia  REF GE 10.E38 2003   

Macmillan Encyclopedia of earth sciences QE 5 .E5137 1996 vol. 1-2   

Mc Graw-Hill encyclopedia of energy TJ 163.2 M3    1976

The Cambridge encyclopedia of meteorites QB 755 .N65 2002

The encyclopedia of science and technology Q 121 .E53 2001   

The Penguin desk encyclopedia of science and mathematics Q 121 .B86 2000

Ebooks from Ebrary on Physical Science

 

Search Animals Online Database

 

Physical Sciences Books

Cover Art
A Guide to Southern Utah's Hole in the Rock Trail - Aitchison, Stewart
Call Number: F 832.S4 A37 2005
ISBN: 0874808219
In 1879 230 settlers in southwestern Utah heeded the call from the leaders of the Church to pull up stakes and move to the distant San Juan River country of southeastern Utah. Their six-month long journey became one of the most extraordinary wagon trips ever undertaken in North America, their trail one of peril, difficulty and spectacular vistas. Learn the history of this trip and see pictures in this book.

Cover Art
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils - Bishop A.C., Wooley A.R./ and Hamilton, W.R.
Call Number: QE 363.8.B56 2005
ISBN: 1554070546
This handy guide divides minerals, rocks and fossils into categories according to type and then shows pictures of them and an explanation of their chemistry as well as history and other interesting facts.

Cover Art
Botany in a Day - Epel, Thomas J.
Call Number: QK 99.U6 E46 2004
ISBN: 1892784157
Learn the patterns of plant identification with this easy to use guide. Pictures and detailed descriptions of the various plants are included.

Cover Art
The Joy of Chemistry - Cobb, Cathy and Fetterolf, Monty L.
Call Number: QD 35.C56 2005
ISBN: 1591022312
This book takes common chemistry elements and not only gives explanations on how to understand them but also includes experiments you can do at home to help you understand them and to make them more fun. Also included is a list of what you need to complete each experiment.

Cover Art
Authors of the Storm: Meteorologists and the Culture of Prediction - Fine, Gary Alan
Call Number: QC 869.5.F56 2007
ISBN: 0226249522
Whether it is used as an icebreaker in conversation or as the subject of serious inquiry, “the weather” is one of the few subjects that everyone talks about. And though we recognize the faces that bring us the weather on television, how government meteorologists and forecasters go about their jobs is rarely scrutinized. Given recent weather-related disasters, it’s time we find out more. Based on field observation and interviews at the Storm Prediction Center in Oklahoma, the National Weather Service in Washington, D.C., and a handful of midwestern outlets, Fine finds a supremely hard-working, insular clique of professionals who often refer to themselves as a “band of brothers.” In Fine’s skilled hands, we learn their lingo, how they “read” weather conditions, how forecasts are written, and, of course, how those messages are conveyed to the public. Weather forecasts, he shows, are often shaped as much by social and cultural factors inside local offices as they are by approaching cumulus clouds.

Cover Art
Pollution - Gerdes, Louise I.
Call Number: H 1. O66pol 2006
ISBN: 073772949X
A part of the opposing viewpoints series this book attacks the issue of Pollution. Some of the positions include: Is Pollution a serious problem? Does Pollution threaten public health?, How can Society Reduce Pollution? and more.

Cover Art
Understanding Weather: A Visual Approach - Hughes, Karel and Mayes, Julian
Call Number: QC 861.3.M39 2004
ISBN: 0340806117
This guide shows how it is possible to understand the weather and climate by combining our ability to observe weather systems from the earth’s surface with satellite imagery.
Included throughout the book are images of different kinds of weather with detailed explanations.

Cover Art
Will the World Run Out of Fresh Water? - Miller, Debra A.
Call Number: H 1 .A8 dis 2007
ISBN: 0737734043
This at issue book addresses various opinions regarding the worlds water problems. Some of these include: the world running out of fresh water, technical solutions, scarcity of water and water management.

Cover Art
Rock Art Savvy - Sanders, Ronald D.
Call Number: E 78.S7 S255 2005
ISBN: 0878425101
Some of the best Indian petroglyphs and pictographs in America can be found in the greater Southwest.
Rock Art Savvy includes all the information visitors need for enjoying more than one hundred remarkable sites in seven states.

Cover Art
Desert Wildflowers of North America - Taylor, Ronald J.
Call Number: QK 110.T39 1998
ISBN: 0878423761
This book takes all of the wildflowers which can be found in the desserts of North America and divides them into families. It also offers pictures, an explanation of what they are and where you are more likely to find them. One of our newer books.

Cover Art
Edible and Medicinal Plants of the West - Tilford, Gregory L.
Call Number: QK 98.5.U6 T54 1997
ISBN: 0878423591
A full-color photographic guide to the identification, edibility, and medicinal uses of over 250 plant species, growing from Alaska to Southern California, east across the Rocky Mountains and the Northern Plains to the Great Lakes.

Cover Art
Geology Underfoot in Southern Utah - Wieder, Richard L.
Call Number: QE 169.O76 2006
ISBN: 0878425179
Standing before any of southern Utah's enigmatic landforms, it's clear, there's a story here. What carved the goblins in Goblin Valley, the domes at Capitol Reef, the towering sandstone walls of Zion Canyon, and Bryce's hoodoo fairyland, not to mention all those arches and natural bridges? _Geology Underfoot in Southern Utah_ explores the stories behind 33 sites - some world-famous, others off the beaten path. Marvel at tales of ancient eruptions, deserts, seas, and swamps; the movements of massive rock units over eons; and the rock's interactions with the life above it, including humankind. Along the way, visit dinosaur trackways, old mines, rock glaciers, oysters in the desert, and much more. Includes 146 black-and-white photographs, 31 maps, 37 black-and-white figures, bibliography, glossary, and index.

Weather and Climate Handbook - Allaby, Michael
Call Number: REF QC 981.A49 2002
Containing approximately 2,200 entries, this reference book offers basic information about atmospheric processes, the sciences of climatolgy and meteorology, and the people who have contributed to these disciplines. The material is divided between a glossary, biographies, a chronology, and charts and tables. Biographical entries list the names, nationalities, years of birth and death, and accomplishments of 100 scientists.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate (2 volumes) - Allaby, Michael
Call Number: REF QC 854.A45 2007
ISBN: 0816040710
Complemented by nearly 300 maps, charts, designs of specific weather- and climate-related conditions, and photographs of notable scientists. The encyclopedia also includes five helpful appendixes -- a chronology of disasters, a chronology of discoveries in the atmospheric sciences, the geologic time scale, tornadoes of the past, and weather-related websites -- as well as an extensive bibliography and an index. Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate is an indispensable resource for students and scientists who need literate, comprehensive information on the crucial language of climatology and meteorology.

Cover Art
Planets, stars, and galaxies : a visual encyclopedia of our universe - Aguilar, David A.
Call Number: QB 501.A267 2007
ISBN: 1426301707

 

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email

Physical Sciences Websites

  • 19th Century Maps, Photographs and Images

    All kinds of maps and images from the 19th century in the United States.
  • Astronomy Magazine
    There are videos, articles, photos, news, a reader forum, a blog, and pictures all about astronomy. There is also a featured picture of the day as well as information on how to subscribe to the magazine.
  • Bulletin of Science, Technology, and Society
    A journal where science, technology and society all come together.
  • David Rumsey Map Collection
    Access over 2,000 maps of a wide variety and scope.
  • Famous People in the field of Chemistry
    Includes historical information on famous chemical inventions such as the periodic table.
  • Geological Magazine
    A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals.
  • Geology Magazine
    Undoubtedly the most popular and widely read earth science journal in print, with about 22 articles each month that are current, concise, and thought provoking.
  • Geology.com
    Information, articles, quizzes, reference sources, news and maps all relating to the topic of geology. Also included are earthquake maps and a geology dictionary.
  • Index to Large Scale USGS and UGS Geologic Maps of Utah
    This index was created to assist in locating detailed geologic maps of Utah that are distributed among the map and monographic series published by the United States Geological Survey (USGS) and the Utah Geological Survey (UGS).
  • Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
    Maps of all different kinds of geographic locations, wars, disasters and much more.
  • Physical sciences resource center
    This website features all kinds of articles on the physical sciences. The site is sponsored by the American Association of Physics Teachers.
  • Portals to the World
    Links to Electronic Resources from Around the World
  • Rocky Mountain Geology
    This scholarly journal, published by the University of Wyoming, is an important resource for professional earth scientists. The high-quality, refereed articles report original research by top specialists in all aspects of geology and paleontology.
  • Science Videos from Britannica Encyclopedia
    Watch a wide variety of science related videos from Britannica Online.
  • United States Geological Society
    Learn all about geology as a discipline, read and search geology publications, learn all about geological elements and hazards, and much more.
 

Please share your feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip