This is the "Home" page of the "Religion Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion Sources  

Sources for learning about Religion. Mostly LDS but there are some resources with information about other religions as well.
Last Updated: Jan 12, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.ldsbc.edu/religion Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Resources

All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.

  • Biographies of Early Men and Women of the LDS Church
    The biographies in this database collected around 1900, detail the lives of many men and women who played a role in the organization of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The information for some is more complete than for others.
  • Biographies of various early church members
    These biographies are from three sources: Lyndon W. Cook, The Revelation of the Prophet Joseph Smith: A Historical and Biographical Commentary of the Doctrine and Covenants Dean C. Jessee, ed., and the papers of Joseph Smith.
  • BYU Historical Photo Collections
    C. R. Savage Collection, George Anderson Collection, Walter Mason Camp Collection, & William Henry Jackson Collection.
  • Edith Irvine Collection
    A talented LDS photographer who left her collection to BYU when she died. There are 293 photographs of California, Yellowstone park and more.
  • Encyclopedic History of the Church
    Andrew Jenson was the first to organize Latter-day Saint historical data into an encyclopedic form. This work is particularly valuable in providing brief histories of Church units from their beginnings up to 1930.
  • Gospel Link
    On Campus Only
    Get access to a wide variety of gospel and religion related resources.
  • Guide to Mormon Diaries and Autobiographies
    Davis Bitton’s guide was published in 1977 and is still one of the best resources available for locating Mormon Diaries in over a dozen U.S. repositories.
  • Index of LDS Pioneers
    The most complete index of individuals and companies that crossed the plains in Church companies between 1847 and 1868. Many names are still missing.
  • Joseph Smith Papers and History.
    Learn all about Joseph Smith, his life, his mission and much more. Read his papers, and history, as well as gain access to his historical documents and photographs.
  • Journals of Early Mormons
    This site contains the Journals, Diaries, Biographies and Autobiographies of Some Early Mormons and Others Who Knew Joseph Smith, Jr. and/or His Contemporaries.
  • LDS Church Chronology
    Published chronological abstracts from the manuscript Journal History of the Church (published on DVD). This book is a useful tool as an every word index to pre-1914 historical events in LDS Church history.
  • LDS Women's Papers
    An ongoing project to identify and summarize women's papers held in the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Archives at BYU Library. Each entry includes a short biography and abstract which are textword searchable. More entries are added each year.
  • LDS Writings
    A growing and geographically varied collection of original writings from the 1830s into the 1960s.
  • Mormon History
    articles, books, theses, and Ph.D. dissertations dealing with the history of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, written from the time of its inception in 1830 to the present.
  • Online Scholarly Mormon Research
    This online research guide for scholarly material on Mormon theology, history, culture, and people is maintained by J. Michael Hunter, Mormon Studies Librarian at Brigham Young University.
  • Personal Writings of Joseph Smith
    Read and search the personal writings of Joseph Smith online.
  • Religion and Philosophy
    Database with articles from publications related to religion and philosophy.
  • Savage Image Collection
    Over 1,000 images from one of the foremost 19th century landscape photographers of the western United States. The collection includes portraits, many of prominent Mormon leaders; views of Utah and the west; mining operations; and more.
  • Society of Biblical Literature Seminar Papers
    Information all about the study of the bible as literature. Information about their publications is also included.
 

Religion Books and DVDS from our shelves

These books and DVDS are new within the last year or so and cover various topics of interest on the subject of the LDS religion.

Cover Art
Increase in Learning - Bednar, David A.
Call Number: BX 8642.1.B76i 2011
ISBN: 160908943X
Elder Bednar emphasizes concepts, patterns and processes that invite each of us to act and learn fundamental truths for ourselves.

Cover Art
A Return to Virtue - Dalton, Elaine S.
Call Number: BX 8648.D17r 2011
ISBN: 1609089243
Through the process of running seventeen marathons, Elaine Dalton, general president of the Young Women, has learned that a long-distance race closely parallels life itself. It demands strict training and daily diligence. We have times of great triumph and times of great trial when we must push through the pain and somehow keep going. We learn that we never really run alone and that there are scores of angels who guide and guard our journey. We discover that our vision of our future helps us press forward and that what we do or don t do matters. Speaking to women of all ages, Sister Dalton explains how virtue is a vital component in the marathon of life. Virtue is a pattern of thought and behavior based on high moral standards, the author writes. Virtue increases your capacity to handle the challenges of life, allows you to qualify for temple blessings, and enables you to become a powerful influence for good. In her first published book, Sister Dalton declares, I truly believe that one virtuous woman or man, led by the Spirit, can change the world!

President Gordon B. Hinckley [video recording] : honoring the life and legacy of a prophet - Excel Entertainment
Call Number: DVD BX 8670.1.H5913 PRE

Cover Art
Mormon scientist : the life and faith of Henry Eyring - Eyring, Henry J.
ISBN: 1590388542

Cover Art
The King James Bible and the Restoration - Jackson, Kent P.
Call Number: BX 8621.K58j 2011
ISBN: 0842528024
1. Jesus Christ personally established His Church on the earth during His mortal ministry;
2. The original Apostles were ordained and given authority to lead and direct the original Church of Jesus Christ during their mortal ministries;
3. With the death of the Apostle John, the authority of Jesus Christ to lead and direct His original Church was taken away from the earth ... setting the stage for the long-predicted "Apostasy";
4. From the beginning of the Apostasy, the world waited nearly 1,730 years for the predicted "Restoration" of the authority of Jesus Christ to return to the earth.

One of the requisite events preceeding the Restoration was making the Bible accessible to the common man/woman ... putting the Holy Bible in their own hands ... in their own language. That event occurred in 1611 with the publication of the King James Bible ("KJB").

Throughout 2011, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints ("LDS Church" or "Mormons") joined the worldwide 400th commemoration of the publication of the KJB. "The King James Bible and the Restoration" emerged from a symposium held by the Religious Studies Center at Brigham Young University ("BYU") in which scholars examined the KJB from a Latter-day Saint ("LDS") perspective.

This book is a compilation of contemporary studies by LDS scholars reflecting the power the KJB had on the formative events of the Restoration through the Prophet Joseph Smith ... from the First Vision ... to the translation of The Book of Mormon ... to the development of the other scriptures of the Restoration (The Doctrine and Covenants and The Pearl of Great Price). The reader will understand that the KJB continues to have a vital influence on LDS beliefs, worship, and practices. Finally, the reader will understand how and why Latter-day Saints DO believe that the Bible is the Word of God.

Cover Art
Divine Signatures: The Confirming Hand of God - Lund, Gerald
Call Number: BX 8634.1.L971d2010
ISBN: 1606419277
Heavenly Father, are you really there? As Latter- day Saints, we know God exists, but at some point we may wonder, Heavenly Father, are you really there for me? When trials seem beyond our ability to bear, some people lose their spiritual bearings, while others are made even stronger. How can we strengthen our faith and deepen our testimony to the point that we can endure whatever life holds in store for us and come out stronger than before? In this unique book, Gerald N. Lund Reminds us of how much God loves His children and that He is anxious to bless them, especially when they are striving to do His will. Teaches that God often sends blessings in such a highly unusual, dramatic, or precisely timed manner that its as if the Lord signs the blessing personally so we know with certainty that it came from Him. Relates stories from Church history, from his own life, and from acquaintances that illustrate the inspiring and life- changing insights he shares.

Cover Art
Teachings of Thomas S. Monson - Monson, Thomas S.
Call Number: BX 8648.M759t 2011
ISBN: 1609088905
Teachings of Thomas S. Monson is the must-have companion to the bestselling, acclaimed biography of President Monson, To the Rescue. This book will be invaluable to readers because it -provides President Monson's teachings in topical format, and includes statements on more than 130 topics, from a discussion on the Aaronic priesthood through comments directed to the youth. -gives quick, easy access to statements on vital gospel topics covering more than a half century of President Monson's teaching. -is the ideal, reliable source for modern prophetic guidance on a host of subjects. -outlines what we should know and how we should live in our time. -includes a scripture index so readers can find what President Monson has taught about specific scriptural passages. -includes a page at the front of the book for readers to record their testimony about the impact of the prophet's teachings in their own lives. This book will be the authoritative collection of our beloved prophet's teachings and an invaluable resource for all who are involved in teaching the gospel.

Cover Art
To the Rescue: The Biography of Thomas S. Monson - Swinton, Heidi
Call Number: BX 8695.M56S95 2010
ISBN: 160641898X
To the Rescue is the much-anticipated official biography of President Thomas S. Monson. Beginning with President Monson s family heritage and his early years in Salt Lake City, it includes his vocational preparation and his career in the world of journalism. More important, this inspiring book recounts his lifetime of Church service. Called as a bishop at the age of twenty-two, as a mission president at thirty-one, and as a member of the Quorum of the Twelve at age thirty-six, he has traveled the globe to minister to the Saints for more than fifty years. This book shares many of his personal experiences, from his visits behind the Iron Curtain to his contributions on the Scriptures Publication Committee and in the missionary and welfare areas; it also provides up-to-the-minute information about his work as Church President. Filled with wonderful photographs and little-known accounts, this biography is a portrait of a leader who ministers both to the one and to the many, and who is completely dedicated to doing whatever the Lord prompts him to do.

Cover Art
How We Got the Book of Mormon - Turley, Richard E.
Call Number: BX 8622.01.T848 2011
ISBN: 1609080629
Many Latter-day Saints are intrigued to learn that the Book of Mormon has changed over time. How We Got the Book of Mormon recounts the fascinating history of this work of scripture, from the golden plates to the present edition, explaining the changes that occurred with each major version. It is not a commentary or a traditional history book. With beautiful fullcolor visuals and remarkable photographs it tells the story of the history of this sacred text. This book will appeal to adult Latter-day Saints, as well as Sunday School, institute, and seminary students. The only book of its kind, How We Got the Book of Mormon will inspire readers to a deeper appreciation for the Book of Mormon.

Cover Art
Finding Hope - Wilcox, Michael S.
Call Number: BX 8648.W643f 2011
ISBN: 160908067X
When life’s challenges seem overwhelming, where can you turn for help? In this newest volume of the Time Out Classics series, author S. Michael Wilcox offers a profound message of hope and encouragement. Using powerful stories from the scriptures, he teaches that hope can be found in looking past obstacles and moving forward with faith, in looking back at past experiences that may have strengthened us for future challenges, and in looking for times when the Savior walks with us. On those days when we may wonder if Heavenly Father has forgotten us, we have the assurance that each of His servants will receive the light of the countenance of their Lord . . . every man in his hour and in his time and in his season. And although it may not be your hour now, He will come because He is aware of us, He knows our needs, and He will bless us.

Cover Art
Walking on Water - Wilcox, S. Michael
Call Number: BX 8647.W643w 2011
ISBN: 1609083628
For many years, bestselling author S. Michael Wilcox has been a favorite presenter at BYU Education Week, Time Out for Women, and adult religion classes. His popular talks on CD represent some of his most inspiring and profound work, generating countless requests for printed transcripts of these classic addresses. Now these timeless talks have been transcribed, edited by the author, and compiled into a single volume. Included in this long-awaited collection are: Walking on Water: When the Lord Asks the Impossible The Fourth Watch When All Eternity Shook King Noah Blindness and the Vision of Seers Of Lions, Dragons, and Turkish Delight, Parts 1 & 2 Your Faith Becometh Unshaken: Building Your Testimony Pyramid Taking the Temple with You Seeing As God Sees: Discovering the Wonder of Ourselves and Others The Jesus We Need to Know

Cover Art
Beloved Emma - Woodland, Lori E.
Call Number: BX 8670.07.Sm55 Wo 2008
ISBN: 1590388283

 
 

Religion Encyclopedias

The encyclopedia of American Religions     BL 2525 .M449 1978 vol. 1-2    1978

Dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane-Encyclopedia of the early church    REF BR665.D5813 1992
   
Encyclopedia of early Christianity     BR 162.2 .E53 1990    1990

Encyclopedia of Mormonism    BX 8605.5 .E62 1992 vol. 1-13    1992

Harper's encyclopedia of Bible life     BS 440 .M5 1978    1978

New Larousse encyclopedia of mythology     BL 311 .N43 1968    1968

The Living Bible encyclopedia in story and pictures     BS 440 .L58x 1968  vol. 1-16    1968

The Muslim Almanac    REF BP 40.M83 1996    1996

The new encyclopedia of Judaism     BM 50 .E63 2002    2002

Online Encyclopedias

LDSBC Reference Librarian

Profile Image
AnnaLaura Brown
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
801-524-8181-phone
801-200-3209- text
Send Email

LDS Church Links

These are a selection of links from the LDS Church website.

  • Church History
    This site is the central location for online materials related to the history of the Church. Resources include information about historic Church sites, online displays of Church art and artifacts, information on the Church’s historical library and archives, links to materials available through Brigham Young University, and access to introductory materials on Church history
  • Church Music
    This site contains links to all the music and music-related resources that the Church has placed online. Along with sheet music, resources include an interactive music player to play, read, or transpose hymns and children’s songs, as well as instructional materials on leading music and understanding music symbols and terms. Site visitors can search for songs with a variety of keywords, and songs can be downloaded as MP3 files.
  • Church Periodicals
    Searchable list of church periodicals.
  • Clerk and Technology Support
    This site provides help for those who serve in the Church as clerks or as stake technology specialists. The site includes troubleshooting articles, a rotating tip of the week, a discussion forum, MLS software downloads, and more.
  • Countries Web Sites
    This site provides a linked list of all the Church’s country Web sites. Under the direction of Area Presidencies, many country Web sites have been created as an official Internet presence of the Church in various places around the world. The content of country Web sites varies but may include such information as reports of official Church activities, messages from the Area Presidency, announcements and reports of special events, and local Church history, news, and calendar items.
  • Disabilities
    This site provides information and resources for Church leaders, teachers, and families of those who have disabilities. The site describes the characteristics of many disabilities and provides information on how to help in both Church and family settings. Also included are references to related scriptures and quotations from Church leaders that offer comfort and counsel.
  • Family Search
    This is the official genealogy (or family history) site for the Church and constitutes one of the largest genealogical resources in the world. For both the experienced and novice family history researcher, this site provides access to census indexes, vital records, user-submitted pedigree charts, and much more. The site is connected to the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and provides locations of family history centers of the Church across the globe.
  • Gospel Library
    This site provides in multiple formats all the official Church materials that have been published for gospel study and teaching. Resources include the scriptures, Church magazines from 1971 to the present, teaching manuals for all quorums and auxiliary organizations, worldwide leadership training, and additional support materials for leaders, teachers, and parents.
  • Gospel Topics
    This site provides an alphabetical list of topics related to the doctrine, policies, history, and practices of the Church. Most entries include a brief summary, a more in-depth explanation, related scriptures, related articles from Church magazines, and additional online resources related to the topic.
  • Home and Family
    This site provides official Church resources to strengthen homes and families. Along with information and helps for family home evening and other family activities, the site provides links to resources on education, employment, and home storage.
  • Humanitarian Services
    This site provides information about the Church’s various worldwide humanitarian initiatives, including emergency response, measles vaccinations, neonatal resuscitation training, clean water projects, and more. The site also provides answers to frequently asked questions and gives information on how others can help.
  • Institute Manuals
    PDF copies of the Institute course manuals.
  • Jesus Christ on LDS.Org
    JesusChrist.lds.org is a multimedia Web site featuring articles, video clips, artwork, an interactive music page, and other sections—all focused on the life, ministry, and divinity of Jesus Christ. The site is intended for Church members and all others with an interest in Jesus Christ.
  • Joseph Smith
    The site is the central location for online historical information about the Prophet Joseph Smith. Resources include chapter-by-chapter accounts of his life, descriptions and slide shows of related historic sites, images of historical documents, a multimedia resource center, and much more.
  • LDS Catalog
    This site is the online catalog for ordering Church materials such as books, manuals, magazines, forms, audiovisual materials, clothing, and more. The site is equipped with a shopping-cart that allows visitors to select multiple items to purchase. Along with pricing information, the site includes a picture and description of each item.
  • LDS Philanthropies
    LDS Philanthropies, a department of the Church, oversees philanthropic donations to the Church’s educational institutions, as well as other initiatives such as Church history, humanitarian aid, missionary work, the Perpetual Education Fund, and temple construction. This site describes the needs being addressed and how donations can be made.
  • LDS Technology
    This site provides information about the technologies being used or considered by the Church. The site also describes how those who are interested can help by contributing their time and talents.
  • Mormon Tabernacle Choir
    This site contains all the latest information on events, tickets, and recordings related to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Site visitors will also find links to frequently asked questions, broadcast text from Music and the Spoken Word, background information about the choir, and a sign-up screen for a free newsletter. The site is also the ideal place to learn more about the Temple Square Chorale and the Orchestra at Temple Square.
  • Mormon.org
    This site is dedicated to helping the general public understand the basic beliefs and practices of the Church. Information is provided in a simple format, avoiding the use of words that may only be familiar to members of the Church. Features include summaries of basic beliefs, a link to find a nearby Church meetinghouse or congregation, and the ability to ask questions in a live chat with a Church member.
  • Newsroom
    This site is the official news resource for media professionals, opinion leaders, and the public. The site provides news stories and editorials that are updated two or three times a week, along with official Church statements on public issues or responses to news reports about the Church. Short biographies of senior Church leaders are provided, as well as concise reference material on Church beliefs and practices. The Newsroom site also identifies Church spokespersons and explains how to contact
  • Official Church Websites
    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints sponsors many Web sites for the benefit of Church members, news media professionals, and all others who are interested in learning more about the Church. The following is an alphabetical listing of the major Church Web sites.
  • Places to Visit
    This site lists the Church’s historic sites, visitors’ centers, and pageants. Each listing includes a description of the place or event, as well as contact information, schedules, and driving directions.
  • Provident Living
    This site contains information regarding self-reliance, emergency preparedness, and humanitarian efforts. Resources range from information on family budgets and food storage to updates on ongoing global initiatives and emergency disaster response. Many of the welfare tools were designed for Church members, but much of the information is useful to the general public.
  • Scriptures
    This site provides the online text of the scriptures: the King James Bible, the Book of Mormon, the Doctrine and Covenants, and the Pearl of Great Price. Study helps such as the Bible Dictionary, Guide to the Scriptures, Joseph Smith Translation, and maps are also included. The site has a search tool with multiple options.
  • Seminaries and Institutes
    This site is designed for both instructors and students in the Church’s seminaries and institutes program. The site provides online versions of the manuals and study guides, as well as links to upcoming events such as firesides. The site also includes an Institute of Religion Locator to enable people to find institute classes around the world.
  • Serving in the Church
    This site provides information to support Church members in their various callings to serve in the Church. Site sections include resources for Aaronic and Melchizedek Priesthood leaders and instructors, as well as leaders and teachers in Primary, Sunday School, Young Women, and Relief Society. Various other callings are also addressed individually.
  • Stake and Ward Websites
    Stake and ward Web sites, also known as local unit Web sites, can be accessed only by Church members residing within the local unit. These sites contain location-specific content, such as member and leadership directories, contact information, meeting times, and news about local activities.
  • Temples
    This site provides a list of all the temples of the Church. Each listing includes an image of the temple, its schedule, its address, and driving directions. This site also includes answers to frequently asked questions and an explanation of the purpose of temples and family history work.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip