Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science 110: Books & Articles

Boolean Operators

AND: Searches for items containing Both search terms:

So you'd see  only articles mentioning BOTH Elephants and Africa. This is your go-to for most searches, and narrows your results

 

NOT: Removes a term from a search that keeps coming up

So you'd find articles about elephants, but none that mention Africa. NOT Booleans are great for removing false positives (Utah AND jazz NOT Basketball)

 

OR: Searches for either search term, regardless whether they both appear together

So this would give you sources on either Africa or Elephants, regardless of whether they were used together. OR Booleans are great for synonyms (Bigfoot OR Sasquatch)

Finding

Finding articles at the LDSBC library is simple!

1: Navigate to the library homepage at library.ldsbc.edu

2: Click on Databases on the left, under the Quick Links heading

3: Find your Subject (Business, English, Math, Medicine, etc)

4: Select a database (I like Academic Search Premier or Research Library)

5: Search for your topic using simple words and Boolean Operators (for example-- sustainable technology AND building codes, not "what sustainable technologies are used in current building codes?" Databases can't understand sentences!

Have a specific journal or magazine in mind? We can help with that!

1: Navigate to the library homepage at library.ldsbc.edu

2: Hover your mouse over Find Info at the top of page, in the black bar

3: Choose Journals by Title

 

4: Search for the journal or magazine title that interests you (Here we're searching for the Harvard Business review)

 

 

5: If we have the title it'll show up in the list. Click Go!

 

 

6: Find the title. Be careful, sometimes there's more than one!

7: The next page shows you which databases hold this title:

 

 

8: Click Full Text Available Via next to one of the databases (Here we'll use EBSCOhost Business Source Premier)

9: The next page will take you to the database and give you all the info about this journal/magazine title, including the years of publication, the years we have access to the full text, whether it's peer reviewed (it's not), and a place to search directly within the publication:

 

 

10: You can now browse issues or search for a specific article right from the database!

 

We have many articles at the LDSBC library on religious topics!

1: Navigate to the library homepage at library.ldsbc.edu

2: Click on Databases on the left, under the Quick Links heading

 

3: Under the subject Gospel Topics you can find many article databases. Gospel Link can only be used on campus (The first time you use it be sure to click the First Time User Registration link! After that use the other one.

4. We have more religion databases in the alphabetical list at the top of the page. If you click on "R" there's Religion and Philosophy as well as Religion & Philosophy Collection.

 

5: Once in the database search for your topic using simple words and Boolean Operators (for example-- Christianity AND Islam AND history, not "what is the historical relationship between Christians and Muslims?" Databases can't understand sentences!

It's easy to find both physical books and electronic books at the LDSBC Library!

1. Navigate to the library's homepage at library.ldsbc.edu

2. The green Quick Search box in the middle of the page searches all of the books on the shelf, our e-books, and some of our articles (but not all of our articles!). Type the subject you're researching in the search box, then click the magnifying glass. We're going to search for medical ethics.

 

3. Once we have our results (about 147,000 of them!) we can start to narrow things down. If you look next to the item, there's a little symbol showing what it is, whether that's a regular book, e-book, or article. E-books will have a book symbol and link, and physical books will have a book symbol and a call number:

 

4. If we're interested in only e-books, for example, we can limit our results. Select "e-books" under the "Resource Type" dropdown on the left side of the screen.

 

5. E-books live in databases, just like articles. Once we limit it to e-books, we can click the name of the database, and it will take us right to the e-book within that database.

 

6. Once there, we can download it and read it in the browser, or often through an app like Kindle. Not all books have the same functionality, so your options depend on the book you're looking for and which database carries it!

 

From the Stacks

Don't forget keywords!

Great keywords are going to give you the best possible results. Remember that a good keyword is usually a noun ("shoes"), or a noun with a modifier ("blue shoes"). It can also be a short phrase ("blue suede shoes").