Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Predicting Company Failure
Your group has been assigned to research troubled and/or hated companies and predict which company is most likely to fail. Your presentation must convince the rest of the class that your prediction is the most likely to come true. So, you will want to back up your decision with solid facts, accurate figures, and good analysis.
These resources can help you succeed!
How to determine if a business is in trouble
Company and Industry Research
The LDSBC library has a number of databases to help you find company and industry reports. Our favorite tools for company research are the following resources:
Business Source Premier Industry and Company Research
Access the industry and company research portal of Business Source Premier. This is also a great place to search for SWOT analysis.
Hoover's Company Records
The ProQuest Business Collection offers access to Hoover's Company Records. Hoover's provides detailed information on companies and industries.
IBIS World: Industry Reports
IBIS World contains industry reports. The reports are comprehensive, well organized, easy to read, and give you information on nearly any industry you can imagine.
Offers details on US and International public companies including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, capital stock, and financial statements.
Privco is the premier source for locating business and financial information on private non-publicly traded corporations as well family owned companies.
The tutorials linked here will help you more successfully search using business databases.
Company Database Research Tutorials
Many of the databases used for company research are a little different than those we use for normal academic research. At the link are a few tutorials to help you use these databases like a pro.