Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanities 110 : Art

Art History

These are some of the resources you have available to find more information and galleries about Art History.

This platform will help you explore the limits of human creativity. Meet transgressive artists, world cultures, and discover great artwork. 

Find over 7+ million items for you to use including articles and databases, archives portal, prints & photographs, and digital collections. 

Watercolours are extraordinary records of our shared past. Enjoy as you navigate between the hundreds of records- all made in watercolour. 

Museum & Galleries | USA

       

Contemporary art museum specializing in large scale installation pieces, founded by Donald Judd. 

The oldest non-collecting contemporary arts institution in the Us. Founded in 1936

Artist's biographies and images from past exhibitions. 

It contains over 3,000 images of items from the collection.  

It includes an archive of MOMA press releases and access to the online library catalog. 

The MCA Champions the provocative side of contemporary art and culture. Our innovative exhibitions, performances, and programs will inspire you. 

Information on exhibitions, as well as the permanent collection at this Minneapolis gallery. 

Presenting the full range of twentieth-century and contemporary American art, with a special focus on works by living artists. 

Visit on Google Arts & Culture

Moma Museum, New York

Here you will find paintings like: 

  • The Starry Night - Vincent Van Gogh
  • The Persistence of Memory - Salvador Dalí
  • Les Demoiselles d'Avgnon - Pablo Picasso

The Munch Museum, Oslo

Here you will find paintings like: 

  • The Scream - Edvard Munch
  • Love and Pain - Edvard Munch
  • Ansiedade - Edvard Munch

Art Gallery, Sydney

Here you will find paintings like: 

  • Bailed Up - Tom Roberts
  • Madame de La Porte - Jean-Marc Nattier
  • Vive l'empereur - Edouard Detaile

Life Photo Collection, New York

Here you will find: 

  • Pictures of some of the most important events in US history and the World. 

Museum of Fine Arts, Budapest

Here you will find paintings like: 

  • Esterhazy Maddona - Raphael
  • The Wrestlers - Gustave Courbet 
  • Portrait of youth - Dosso Dossi

Museums & Galleries | Europe

It is home to the National Museum of Modern Arts and is internationally renowned for its 20th and 21st-century art collections. 

MAXXI represents an awareness of the importance of promoting the current creative expressions of a nation such as Italy

Contemporary art gallery in Stockholm. The site has information on current shows and an archive.  

Temporary exhibitions of international contemporary art.   

It presents major temporary exhibitions, some of which are based in whole or in part on the Pinault Collection. 

Nearly 800,000 photographic images of works of art kept in French national and regional museums available for you online. 

Tate holds the national collection of British art from 1500 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art. 

World's leading museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years if human 

Virtual Museum Tours

Explore the inside of these different museums around the world. Paintings, sculptures, and pieces of history are just some of the things you will be able to enjoy with the following tools. 

Official NASA photographs from agency photographers chronicle what's making news across the agency, from launchers and landings to important science announcements. 

Discover British Museum objects from prehistory to the present using the most advanced WebGL technology. Jump back in time, listen to curators share their insights, and connect objects across time and space. 

An online platform where you have access to high-resolution images of artworks housed in 151 museums and 40 different countries. Delight with physical and contextual information all these artworks.​​

 

Digital Image Collections | Art

         

Collection of over one million fine ars images of historical and contemporary works. Browse by artist or museum. High-resolution images are available from Art Resource for free.

A free platform to art from all over the world, a growing collection of 21,000+ artworks from leading galleries, museums, private collections, and artist's estates worldwide.  

A Portal to millions of items from Europe's cultural collections in galleries, libraries, archives, and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, diaries and maps. 

Digital Collection that contains 881,097 items. While that is a small fraction of the Library's overall holdings, it is representative of the diversity of the vast collections- from books to videos, maps, manuscripts, photos, and more. 

Curated collections of images, books, audio, and films from a wide range of online archives. Browse by century, medium, genre, source, or tags. 

Online portal built with a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 140,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, and teaching.