Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating an Annotated Bibliography
An annotated bibliography consists of a list of sources that you have cited, summarized, and evaluated. Below are some tips for creating an annotated bibliography. For detailed directions on what to include make sure to ask your English teacher and to follow the specific directions you are given. If you need help with creating citations or finding good sources, come by the library! We would love to help you!
Concise Rules of APA Style by
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
This easy-to-use pocket guide, compiled from the sixth edition of the "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, " provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication
Purdue OWL--Annotated Bibliographies
The Online Writing Lab from Purdue University is one of the best resources for using APA styles and citations. The page has examples of paper formats, in-text citations, and full bibliography citations.
Purdue OWL--APA Formatting Guide
The Purdue University OWL citation guides have become a standard tool for students when formatting papers and citations. This source has information on how to build in-text citations, full bibliographic citations, and format papers.
A very important part of your argument will be having good sources that you can cite, summarized and evaluate. Below is a list of databases where you can find good sources that you can use to support your argument and to include in your annotated bibliography. If you need help searching a database, come by the library! We would love to help you!
Academic Search Premier
A general use database, Academic Search Premier has a lot of academic and non-academic journals and magazines to search from. This is a great starting place for sources.
Covers one hot topic or controversial issue each week. The information usually includes background on the issue, key players on the different sides of the issue, and key statistics for the issue.
ERIC or Education Resource Information Center is a database that focuses on educational issues.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context collects newspaper articles, journal articles, and statistical information about issues that are far reaching. If your topic is an issue that extends beyond the USA, this database will provide some great background information about the issue.
Health Source Consumer Edition
If your topic is health-related, Health Source Consumer Edition will have consumer-geared & relevant articles.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints presents different views of an issue. Topics that have been in the news a lot recently will often have a topics page that represents the various viewpoints on the issue. This is a great database if you are struggling to find a second or third viewpoint for your topic.
Copy Editing Marks
Proof Reading Marks
This chart will help you know what different proof reading marks represent on graded and peer reviewed papers.