Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choosing a Topic
It is crucial to your success in this course that you choose a good topic. In order for a topic to work, it must fit the below criteria. If you're not sure if your topic will work for a paper, feel free to stop by the library and to talk to a librarian.
1. You must have some kind of personal connection to/interest in the topic.
2. There must be information written about the topic in academic and scholarly journals.
3. The topic must be specific and not too broad.
4. You must be able to take at least 3 different opinions on the topic.
Below is a list of databases where you can find good sources to support your argument. If you need help searching a database, come by the library! We would love to help you!
Academic Search Premier
A general use database, Academic Search Premier has a lot of academic and non-academic journals and magazines to search from. This is a great starting place for sources.
Covers one hot topic or controversial issue each week. The information usually includes background on the issue, key players on the different sides of the issue, and key statistics for the issue.
ERIC or Education Resource Information Center is a database that focuses on educational issues.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context collects newspaper articles, journal articles, and statistical information about issues that are far reaching. If your topic is an issue that extends beyond the USA, this database will provide some great background information about the issue.
Health Source Consumer Edition
If your topic is health-related, Health Source Consumer Edition will have consumer-geared & relevant articles.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints presents different views of an issue. Topics that have been in the news a lot recently will often have a topics page that represents the various viewpoints on the issue. This is a great database if you are struggling to find a second or third viewpoint for your topic.
Need some inspiration?
If you're still struggling to pick an argument to write about, visit Paperial to find out what are some other topics students have written about in the past.
Make sure that you don't have any grammatical or spelling errors in your paper. It lessens your credibility as an author. Many instructors use a SPaG (spelling, punctuation, and grammar) sheets when grading your assignments. Download a PDF of the SPaG sheets or visit the SPaG libguide.
Copy Editing Marks
Proof Reading Marks
This chart will help you know what different proof reading marks represent on graded and peer reviewed papers.